We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but dirty and noisy ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melbourne City Backpackers
Ranked #115 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Well located in the CBD area and plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and easy to get to with the good transport system. The free breakfast and coffee all day is also a bonus. However my room and it seems like most of the other rooms had a very noisy ventilation system which never switched off. The hallway and toilets were also pretty dirty, which seems like a problem that could easily have been solved.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

A lot of friendly people & located in the party area of Melbourne (so don't expect a lot of sleep). It's a 10 minute walk from Southern Cross station, 10 minute walk from Queen Vic market so the location is perfect. But I also think that's one of the only reasons why you should pay that much money. Our room wasn't cleaned before we got in (dirty stuff under the bed, band aids stuck on the frame, fresh stains on the wall) was really dirty.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kjbooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Perfect location - Just about 200 meters away from South Cross Station to catch a skybus to the airport.
Great value - Few bucks for a b&b. Wednesday night free pasta. Sunday morning free pancakes.

Dorm on 4th floor without a lift would be frustrating if you travel heavy.
Free wifi works only in the common area, not in room.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Agnes Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

For what you pay this hostel can't be beat. Staff is awesome and helpful as well as providing breakfast in a city where every meal is going to be expensive. Tuesday's they serve a better breakfast and Wednesday they serve a good pasta for dinner. Right in the middle of the city, great location, coffee and tea included in payment. Wifi is below average and as a personal preference I won't be staying in a 16 bed dorm anymore.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank jordanhazard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

When I lived in Melbourne I stayed here twice, first time when I arrived and second time when I left. Both times I had a good experience, it's a hostel where you can really make friends, the facilities are quite good and the staff is really relaxing, they're always willing to help you

Room Tip: The best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paulo_Cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Nomads All Nations Hostel
Nomads All Nations Hostel
#81 of 155 in Melbourne
351 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 155 in Melbourne
697 reviews
Discovery Melbourne
#123 of 155 in Melbourne
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#34 of 155 in Melbourne
437 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#20 of 155 in Melbourne
438 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#54 of 155 in Melbourne
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne City Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne City Backpackers

Address: 197-199 King St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly King Street Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: S$37 - S$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Melbourne City Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Melbourne City Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Street Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing