We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Central YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location within easy walking distance from bus/train station (where the airport bus has a stop) and on the free tourist trolley stop right outside the door. Plenty of places to eat within easy walking distance as well as the riverfront attractions.

We had a private room/bath. The only thing I didn't like about our room was the windows looked directly into a courtyard where ppl hung out. While the windows were frosted, in the evening if there was a light on in the bathroom your silhouette could be seen from the outside and there was no window shade. I always showered with the light off.

There was an elevator so it made it easy to get to the rooms on the higher floors.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Clean, good price, great staff.
Great location for walking to docklands, federation square, botanic gardens, etc.
Has a cafe right in the main floor.
Recommend this hostel if you'll be in Melbourne area

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Russ_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

I had about 24 hours in Melbourne after a trip to Alice Springs and decided on the Melbourne Central YHA based on its reviews and proximity to the Southern Cross bus station. I was not disappointed! The hostel is well marked and easy to find and within close proximity to the bus & train station and tram system. It's also located within Melbourne's free tram zone which allows you to explore the city very easily either by tram or on foot. The hostel also posts recommendations of things to see, do, and eat in the city which I found helpful in planning my itinerary for my limited time in the city. I stayed in a female only room. There was plenty of space for 6 guests, including lockers under each bed. The wifi is free in the lobby and you can pay a fee to get wifi access in your room. They also have lockers where you can store your luggage for a fee. Linens are free, but they do charge for towels. The bathrooms were clean and they had nice showers/changing stalls. So all in all they had everything I needed for my brief stay in Melbourne!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crmsnprd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

bed is comfory; central location with everything within walking distance, shops, convenience store, food outlets, supermarkets and so on....; really helpful front staff in helping you out;
if there’s anything downside it would be the 6 bunk bed room is fairly small, also the kitchen towels is not really enough both in quality and quantity....

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Ai Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
162
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

I only live about an hour out of Melbourne, my suburb is on the metro train system. But when I’m going to a concert or show of some kind, I always book a night at Melbourne central yha to save the hassle of catching a train close to midnight afterwards. Why is this hostel my go-to? It’s in a fab location, just a short walk from southern cross station, or tram ride to flinders street station. It’s always clean and tidy, and the beds are definitely comfy and well maintained. The staff are always helpful and friendly, and the kitchen is well equipped. The building is safe and secure.

The rooms themselves have plenty of PowerPoints for everyone to charge their phones/tablets etc... and the in-room lockers are definitely handy, and being under the beds they don’t take away any floor space. The rooms aren’t small by any means, there’s definitely plenty of room in them (I normally stay in a 6 or 8 share) but lockers can be bulky and take up a lot of space. The bathrooms are definitely some of the cleanest I’ve experienced in any of the hostels I’ve stayed in too. Also I’ve never had any issues with my stays, but when I’ve noticed fellow hostel guests having issues and have raised them, the staff have gotten onto them right away and fixing it.

If you’re new to the city of Melbourne, or you need a nice place to stay for a night or two while hitting the town for a show, I highly recommend this hostel!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#117 of 161 in Melbourne
396 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#6 of 155 in Melbourne
696 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#14 of 155 in Melbourne
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#35 of 155 in Melbourne
437 reviews
Central Business District
Nomads All Nations Hostel
Nomads All Nations Hostel
#84 of 155 in Melbourne
351 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#53 of 155 in Melbourne
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Central YHA

Address: 562 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: S$41 - S$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the centre of the action and explore vibrant Melbourne with Melbourne Central YHA. Located in the heart of the city our friendly hostel never closes with 24 hour reception and our staff are always ready to answer your questions and help you make the most of your trip. Now with a terrific ground floor communal area opened in late 2014, our YHA offers modern facilities as well as an amazing rooftop complete with BBQ for you to enjoy the city views and meet new friends. On the ground floor and decked out in Melbourne's urban cool style, you'll find our 24 hour reception, tour desk, lounge, brand new self catering kitchen, TV room and Free Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available for purchase). Upstairs, choose from a range of rooms including 3, 4 and 6 multi-share, twin/double rooms with optional ensuite and exclusive rooftop private rooms. All rooms have lift access and heated with included bed linen and each bed has individual reading lights. There's always plenty to do in Australia's sport and events capital! Melbourne Central YHA is only a short walk to Melbourne's main attractions including Federation Square, ACMI, Yarra River, Bourke St Mall, Eureka Skydeck, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Docklands, Crown Casino, Etihad Stadium, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Aquarium and so much more. The free City Circle Tram and the $5 Melbourne Tourist Shuttle stops directly out the front of the hostel and will take you to all the iconic Melbourne sites like the MCG, the Shrine of Remembrance and Rod Laver Arena. Book a room at Melbourne Central YHA and experience Melbourne for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Melbourne Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Central Yha Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing