We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$147
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$132
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$211
US$190
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,456)
Filter reviews
2,456 results
Traveller rating
1,580
640
160
45
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,580
640
160
45
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst kildafrench cafedeluxe studio suitedepot de painalbert parkrestaurants downstairssmart cartram stopsmall kitchenettebotanical gardensloved this hotelthe ground floorchapel streetspa bathmini barcomfortable bedmodern hotel
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 2,456 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Excellent hotel with capable and enthusiastic staff. Large rooms with plenty of space. Will be better when construction next door is finished. Loved the art and decorations. Very quiet area. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank larrylE8542MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan G, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank for the GREAT review - we are also a fan of the artwork and love our neighborhood. Construction work will be finishing in 2018 but in the meantime, guests can always call or email ahead to request a certain room allocation and we'll do our best to assist. We look forward to seeing you again!

Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

I recently travelled to Melbourne for a work trip and had the great pleasure in staying at The Blackman for 2 nights and it was definitely not enough! The Decor of the hotel and the atmosphere as soon as you walk through the door is outstanding. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was immaculate with ample amount of space for 2 people with large luggage, the food was great and the location was perfect. I've signed up for a membership as I know for sure next time I'm in Melbourne I'll return!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Our daughter was getting married and our whole family booked to stay in this hotel -
when we booked the service was excellent and we had high hopes!! When we checked in our room was really dark - they were building a new high-rise just meters away so not only was it noisy from 6.30am onwards you couldn't even see the sky and our ideas of getting our wedding makeup done in the room were shattered as it was just too dark!! The shower was over the bath, the bath was plastic, the table and chairs in the room were also plastic, there was a plastic 'bookcase' in the room that blocked the passageway to the bathroom. The beds were comfy tho!! The night of the wedding we got back looking forward to sleep but then the phone kept ringing and ringing - seemingly someone at reception had given our room phone number to other guests and to the night employees as the phone number to contact if you needed food, drink, a printer cartridge - we eventually took the phone off the hook. Next day we were exhausted, we complained, they didn't care. Wouldn't stay here again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, and at least for the next year or so, away from the building site.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan G, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Hi Linda L

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations.. I would love to chat with you about your experience in further detail if at all possible.

Additional lighting in some of our rooms is something that we are currently looking into, but I would also love to discuss your experience with the room telephone. We definitely do care so it would be great to chat with you further. We have had some amazing feedback from past wedding guests so I would like to see where we may have gone wrong.

If you would like to chat with me, please ask for myself directly when calling the hotel.

Thank you again for your review.

Johan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Same hotel group as The Olsen which I reviewed earlier this year.
Clean, tidy, excellent service (seem to be a trademark of the group, well done !). Restaurant and breakfast very good, above average. Located in a quieter area the only difference from Olsen being that there are no shops or restaurants within walking distance but you are walking distance from a golf course which can be a bonus :).

Room Tip: ask for room with park view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marcel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Really charming, lovely artworks and charming touches, lovely helpful friendly staff, spotless linen, good bed and pillows, cool furniture, good location. Great initial impression but... very grubby curtains (which you only see when you close them at night), worn bedthrow, peeling basin (which you look directly at when brushing teeth), slow drain, chipped artwork frames, very warm in bed alcove (aircon does not circulate there) etc, all of which overshadows the good. Needs a bit of maintenance. So I would rate it above average, but not quite 4 star/very good.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gaiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews