We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great French restaurant”

The French Brasserie
Ranked #26 of 4,328 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Instantly welcoming the French Brasserie offers a relaxing sanctuary at the top end of town. Soaring ceilings and vast glass expanses achieve a chic contemporary atmosphere while friendly attentive staff anticipate your every need. Open for lunch Monday - Friday and dinner Monday - Saturday it continues to exceed the expectations of its guests who can choose to sit upstairs in the mezzanine area, inside at intimate tables or relax outside on the terrace. Express Lunch - Mon-Fri - 2 courses with a beverage $35ppPre-Theatre Menu - Tues-Sat - 2 courses with a beverage $39.50pp(Condtions Apply - Must order before 7.pm - Seating Time - 6.00pm-8.00pm)
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Stumbled across French Brasserie in Malthouse Lane by chance, we booked a table for 6 and had the most amazing night of fabulous food and superb service, would highly recommend

1  Thank IloveParis57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Bonjour IloveParis57,

We're pleased to hear that you stumbled across us whilst in Melbourne and from your name, it seems like fate. We're pleased to hear that you and your guests had a lovely time and experience dining with us.

I'll be sure to pass on your comments, feedback and compliments to our staff and team. Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate it and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Merci,

Chrissy S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

This is a great restaurant tucked away in a small lane. The staff were extremely obliging and the food very good, all at a reasonable price.

3  Thank Paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Bonjour Paul s,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience here at The French Brasserie

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining and that our staff and team took great care of you. I'll be sure to pass on your comments and feedback onto our staff and team.

Thanks for your kind words and feedback, we appreciate it and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Merci,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Typically understaed French elegance complimented by attentive and professional staff.

The food was delicious and well presented.

The wine lsit was excellent and will cater to all tastes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Bonjour Lee S,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience here at The French Brasserie. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining, and that our staff and team took great care of you.

I'll be sure to pass on your comments and compliments onto our staff and team. Thanks for your kind words and recommendation.

We appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Merci,

Chrissy S
The French Brasserie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

This is one of those Melbourne restaurants that everyone should try! Hidden down a lane way, wonderful French service, spectacular food. We have now been twice, and have loved it each time.

Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Bonjour Susan M,

Merci for you review and kind words. We're pleased to hear that you're return diners and I'll be sure to pass on your comments to our staff and team.

We appreciate your recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you,

Chrissy S
The French Brasserie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Simply amazing food , combined with exceptional service. Our waitress was very helpful with menu selection and recommendations. Must try the john dory fish or the eye fillet.

Thank CJF5498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy S, Public Relations Manager at The French Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Bonjour CJF5498,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience here at The French Brasserie. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and that our staff and team took great care of you.

I'll be sure sure to pass on your comments and compliments onto our chefs also. The beef fillet and John Dory are both incredibly popular, so I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed them.

Merci for your kind words and recommendation, we appreciate it and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Chrissy S
The French Brasserie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Brasserie also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The French Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing