We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price”

Ludlow Bar & Dining Room
Ranked #440 of 4,180 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 11 July 2017

It was our first visit to Melbourne and noticed the deal of $20 for a meal and drink as we were strolling along by the river.Thought we would give it a try and have to say it was very good and service too. There were 6 of us and each had something different all very tasty and plenty to eat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank negativecamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudlowBar, Manager at Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Hi there

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. Hope you visit us again soon!

Kind regards,
The team at Ludlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Good standard menu. Very good staff. The seafood chowder was very good. Easy location to find. Adequate wine & beer list

Thank KAS_0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudlowBar, Manager at Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Its very appreciated. Hope to have you again sometime in the future!

Cheers,
The Ludlow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Lunch special was burger with fries/ fish and chips, and a wine for $20 each - perfect.
The burger was delicious & juicy: the patty seemed homemade.
Hubby was impressed with the housemade tartare.
Staff were nice.
Central location.
Lost a point as service was slow (appeared busy, but not packed)

Thank Monica282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudlowBar, Manager at Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hi There @Monica282

Awesome to hear about your great experience here with us. Great value for money! Hope to see you in again!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

While staying at Southbank, I dined here with my daughter and had a nice bar meal, so decided to go back with friends the following night. This time I bought a bottle of wine to share and when we went to pay was told it was twice the price we thought it was. Apparently the menu lists price per glass and price per mini-carafe (half bottle), not bottle! Who in this day and age still uses carafes?? As every other menu I have seen lists wine as glass price and bottle price, we were quite shocked when we went pay the bill and were charged double the listed price for a bottle. The food is standard pub grub at reasonable prices, but be wary if buying bottled wine!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robbo3585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudlowBar, Manager at Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hi @robbo3585

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Ludlow.

Sorry to hear about the confusion of our wine list. It does state at the top of each section 'GLASS' & '375ml' above price options. It also states 'FULL WINE LIST AND COCKTAIL MENU IS AVAILABLE - PLEASE ASK'. Your feedback helps us to be aware of things like this being more clear to our customers so we can help this from happening again. I will be sure to pass it on.

Glad you enjoyed the pub grub! Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
The Ludlow Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Lamb shanks should be moist and flavoured filled. The meat should fall from the bone. Not at this restaurant. The shank was over-cooked and dry. Not much else to say really. The meals showed very little care and missed the mark entirely. Had chosen the a la carte menu rather than the bar menu expecting something different. Disappointed.

Thank Malvoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudlowBar, Manager at Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hi There @Malvoleo

Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are always looking to improve at Ludlow. Your review makes that possible and we appreciate it. I will be sure to pass it on and we shall look into the dish. Secondly, I hope you do choose to return giving Us the opportunity to show you the usual high standard of product we take pride in.

Again thank you for taking the time to review Ludlow, your feedback will be taken on board immediately.

Cheers,
The team at Ludlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ludlow Bar & Dining Room also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Ludlow Bar & Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing