We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful meal with great wines”

Ludlow Bar & Dining Room
Ranked #382 of 4,321 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We missed the winemakers' dinner last year because it quickly booked out, so we were keen to be part of the 2017 event. This time Giant Steps in the Yarra Valley was paired with Yabby Creek on the Mornington Peninsular. While some people on the table has strong preferences for one wine over another, the general consensus was that all the wines were excellent, and that if it had been a competition there was no 'winner'.

The chef had chosen to prepare food that complimented the wines. On arrival we stood and were treated to oysters in a ginger and wakame dressing, tempura prawns with nam jim dressing, and tiny pastry balls of gruyer and truffle. Delicous. The wine was a sparking cuvee from Yabby Lake, which was excellent.

Seated at long tables, we were served three sets of pairs of wines - first chardonney, next pinot noir and then syrah. The winemakers introduced each wine and showed images of the countryside on which the grapes were grown.

The food that accompanied the wines was outstanding. Scallop ravoli with a broth, ballontine of spatchcock with kipfler potatoes, and wagy sirloin with Jerusalem artichoke. To finish the meal we were given a cocktail of vermouth, and a tiny ball of chocolate.

Fellow diners were all friendly and talkative and we really enjoyed their company.

We thank staff at Ludlow for arranging the dinner and serving us, and applaud the chef for his care in selecting the courses to go with the wines. A big thankyou to the winemakers, too, for passing some of their knowledge to us.

It was a memorable evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nocatnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudlowBar, General Manager at Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi nocatnow,

We very much appreciate your lovely and detailed review of our wine dinner!

It is an immense pleasure to read such a positive review after all the hard work that was put into the making of the 'Valley to the Sea' wine dinner. These type of dinners are something that we want to host more, so it's great to have comments like yours to let us know that we are on the right track.

Your comments will be passed on to our staff, who no doubt will be very pleased to hear your kind words.

Kind Regards,

The team at Ludlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Attended a function / party at this restaurant. Staff were tentative to every need. Food was tasty and portions were ok. Everyone enjoyed the evening and it was a great atmosphere. Great selection of wines and cocktails. Looking forward to our next visit there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Foodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudlowBar, Manager at Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hi @Foodie S,

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your functionwith us. At Ludlow we are always trying to improve our services and your reviews help us Keep in the right direction. We look forward to your return!!

Cheers,
The team at Ludlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Great location on Melbourne's Southbank. Big shout out to the English bloke who served us. So friendly and efficient. The cauliflower and leek pie was good and the chicken sandwich was not bad either, nothing amazing though. Nice selection of beers and wines.

Thank LeggyLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudlowBar, Manager at Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hi There @LeggyLorna

Thank your for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! Good to hear you had an enjoyable visit to Ludlow. I will do my best to find the fellow and pass on the good praise. We're always trying to improve Ludlow and your feedback is key to helping us do so!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Four of us met up for dinner and a couple of drinks at about 6pm. The $20 meal of ribs seemed good value when you include the free beer. An excellent range of interesting beers added to the occasion. Unfortunately, apart from the delicious rib the plate was quite sparse leaving us all still hungry. Dessert menu was very limited and extremely expensive. At 7:15pm we moved on to find somewhere to eat. :(

Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

It was our first visit to Melbourne and noticed the deal of $20 for a meal and drink as we were strolling along by the river.Thought we would give it a try and have to say it was very good and service too. There were 6 of us and each had something different all very tasty and plenty to eat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank negativecamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudlowBar, Manager at Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Hi there

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. Hope you visit us again soon!

Kind regards,
The team at Ludlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ludlow Bar & Dining Room also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Ludlow Bar & Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing