We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Relaxing garden view

Great for kids, we went on a 30 minutes boat cruise on the river intended firstly but decided to go... read more

Reviewed 10 March 2021
Gail197999
,
Campbelltown, Australia
Better than Melbourne River Cruises.

Beautiful classic boats - being an attraction in itself. Much friendlier personalised service vs... read more

Reviewed 26 January 2021
Tjinja
via mobile
Read all 53 reviews
  
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
33
16
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
33
16
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yarra river hour trip old world charm skipper vessel boats commentary stream company
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2021

Great for kids, we went on a 30 minutes boat cruise on the river intended firstly but decided to go another 1/2 hrs. Just enough to see all of Melb and quite pleasant to chill. We were also offered free soft drinks because we were on the last cruise of the day as told by the seller

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Gail197999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2021 via mobile

Beautiful classic boats - being an attraction in itself. Much friendlier personalised service vs the Melbourne River cruises. Surprisingly priced better too and has the option of a shorter 30min trip. My 2 year old thoroughly enjoyed her first boat ride.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Tjinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2020

We took the 30 minute cruise and found it very nice and relaxing. The cruise has 2 choices of direction. If you want to do both then you will need a good hour. Melbourne is a very beautiful city and we were amazed at all the sky scrapers and new construction in the area. Definitely a very developing city and extremely clean and well maintained.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank KarenM1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2019

We wanted to combine a visit to the NGV with a Yarra river cruise. We thought we would have to do a 2 hour trip on one of the big boats but as we walked along the riverbank we came across the Classic Steamboat booth.
It offered a one hour (up and down stream) trip on a small wooden replica boat with lovely timber for $20 pp. Despite the name of the company, the boat we travelled on was diesel powered.
There were no more than 10 people on either of our legs. The total capacity would be less than 30 so it offers a much more personal look at the river.
There are roll-up blinds on the side so there’s an unimpeded view.
The commentary by the skipper was informative without being incessant.
One hour was just right and the whole experience was great

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamishT52, Manager at Classic Steamboat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2019

Thanks very much. Little and often is what we do best... and Melbourne did turn on a lovely day.
Ps steam boat under restoration... big big job

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2019

These guys have it sussed. A short cruise up, and a short cruise down river stopping at the jetty on the way past means that you won't have to wait long to hop on board. We sat out in the sun but there's plenty of shaded seating. We were aboard "Grower" who is a beautifully maintained/restored vessel from 1924. The commentary was just right in volume, content, and time.

As for the review regarding the cigarettes, we're gobsmacked that anyone might think dropping butts on the deck would ever be acceptable.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank itamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamishT52, Owner at Classic Steamboat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2019

Good Morning Itemer and thanks very much for your comments, and I’m very glad you enjoyed your cruise on Grower. I love Grower and she is part of my family and I’m glad it shows. She is a good old girl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews