We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel Friendly staff and nothing is an effort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #34 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Excellent Hotel Friendly staff and nothing is an effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is six stars.Very quite and great location, the rooms and service were excellent the beds are extremely comfortable spacious bathroom and shower.Located in the central business district and a short walk or tram ride to the shops and attractions trains are also close by.The Club lounge is excellent and staff very very friendly and helpful and we had the best breakfast I would say we have had anywhere we have travelled in the world.
Wonderful hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear steve4567,
Thank you very much for sharing with me your wonderful review, I was so pleased to read of your fantastic experience. Our Club InterContinental Lounge is indeed a very special and luxurious place and we are very lucky to have it in our hotel. Thank you also for your wonderful feedback regarding the hotel team, I will be sure to share this with them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    548
    192
    63
    35
See reviews for
241
836
128
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have just completed a 3 night stay at the historic and stylish Rialto. As Ambassador Club members we were upgraded to a Club Floor room (without Lounge benefits) and were delighted with the room. It was very large and comfortable and had all the amenities one would expect from a Club room. The bathroom was spacious and had separate bath and shower, good lighting and ample vanity space. Whilst there was no view other than the opposing building housing more rooms, you could look out into the atrium space joining the two buildings and see the sky. Breakfast was expensive so we ate at a couple of nice cafes across the street from the rear of the hotel. We did dine in the Merchant a restaurant inside the hotel and had a wonderful meal in a buzzy, open- kitchen Italian vibe. Plates were to be shared and the waitstaff were efficient and pleasant. This was recommended by the Chief Concierge of the hotel and it did not disappoint. We thought hotel staff were professional, friendly and efficient. Our only disappointment was that our Ambassador benefits did not arrive in our room until our 3rd day even after enqiring on day 2. All in all, a lovely hotel in a great location, near trams and trains and shops. We stayed on the 5th floor and our room was extremely quiet. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Any room facing into the atrium would be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floralsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear floralsydney,
Thank you for sharing with me feedback from your recent stay. We are very lucky to have Guy Grossi's Merchant restaurant located within the hotel and it is indeed a wonderful restaurant.
Please accept my most sincere apologies regarding your Ambassador amenity, I hope that you were not inconvenienced in this instance and please be assured I will follow up where there was some confusion in this delivery or our system has not been correctly implemented.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and really liked the style and design of this hotel as well as the location.
I was in town to attend a trades how, which took place in the convention center.even though there are closer hotels this was just perfect. It was only a 15 minute walk and had the advantage, that it was on the busy Collins street, close to some nice bars, right next to the Rialto Towers and therefore next to a great restaurant "Vue de Monde". Also as I don't Like to stay in. Use hotels such as the Crown with it's casino,this hotel was a comfortable place, from which you weren't too far away.

The Club lounge staff were very friendly and delivered a great and efficient service during my breakfast visits. I didn't check out the evening drinks and snacks as I was out, but I'm sure they would have been great too.

I must say, since InterContinenta took over this property it has developed itself into a great place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ck050877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear ck050877,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your thoughtful and enthusiastic review. I was so happy to read of your wonderful experience during your recent stay and that you had such a special experience in the Club InterContinental Lounge.
The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Booked the hotel last minute, tried to book online but had an error regarding the IATA code on the web. Tried to book direct with the hotel but no one answered the phone. Eventually got through and was put through I assume to the US. Never received a confirmation email. Arrived at the hotel to be told the rate which included breakfast was for 1 person, not according to the website that I looked at. This was eventually sorted and the receptionist apologised for keeping us waiting. Went out for a few hours, came back to turn the TV on to watch the news, no remote. After waiting more than 20 mins went for a swim. Came back, still no remote called reception was informed they would send another one up! Went out for dinner, on our way out asked reception to send the remote to our room. Also asked housekeeping to turn down our bed and replenish tea bags, never stayed in a 5 star hotel before that this wasn't an automatic procedure.Came back still no remote, no turn down service and no tea bags. My husband went back to reception and asked again. 20 minutes later he called for the 4th time, was hoping to watch a movie but by the time we eventually got the remote 10.10pm had gone past it. Never had a TV guide in the room. Have stayed in several 5 star CBD hotels and have always had fantastic experiences, would rate this hotel as 3 star. Today was a better experience, breakfast was excellent and all staff were friendly....shame yesterday left a bad impression.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FifiMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear FifiMelbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me the feedback from your recent stay. I was so disheartened to read that your stay was less than perfect and may I apologise in advance for any inconvenience that you experienced.
I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again and would like you to please contact me directly.
I will message you my email address and I encourage you to please make contact.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

As an Ambassador Club member we had an upgrade to a very large room. Had all the amenities you would expect in this class of hotel.
Due to the construction of the hotel (mostly rooms face into the internal courtyard / reception) you don't actually have a "view". Our room did look to the outside of the building but we were still unable to see the sky.
Bed was very comfortable with good choice of pillows and our room was extremely quiet. Breakfast was on the expensive side at around $44 so we chose not to eat there. Gym and pool were nice. Check in and out was very smooth and all staff very friendly and professional. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustraliaKangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear AustraliaKangaroo,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your feedback regarding your recent stay. I was so happy to read that you had such a wonderful time with us.
I would like to take this opportunity to advise that our full buffet breakfast is $38 per person in Alluvial Restaurant, our main restaurant on the Flinders Lane level of the hotel, and we consider this to be competitive with other five star hotels in Melbourne.
I will still be sure to pass your feedback onto our food and beverage manager for consideration.
The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,839 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $238 - $610
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing