We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, but the fitness center sucks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The room was comfortable: I loved the bed, linens, cleanliness. It was also spacious enough.
The equipment and the fitness center itself were not clean. It was also very small area dedicated to the gym so it made me feel I did not have enough room, especially when other guests were exercising. I was disappointed I had to find another facility to exercise.
Also, there was not a single music video channel on TV in the room, and the choice of TV channels was very limited.
One morning I saw a cockroach on the cheese platter during the breakfast in the restaurant.
The internet was generally slow, and the connection was constantly dropping one of the weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vj011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_Melb, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologise for your unhappiness with our fitness centre but am pleased to advise we are actually in the process of sourcing new and more modern equipment which we hope to install in the near future. I am very surprised to learn of your seeing a cockroach in our restaurant and do wish you had reported this to our team during your stay so that we may have attended the problem immediately. We have now reported this incident to our pest control contractors and Housekeeping Team and can assure you that this is an isolated incident and one we are taking great steps to ensure does not happen again. I am also happy to let you know we have just signed new deal to have an entirely new TV system installed in the hotel, this will provide more TV channels and link to our internet which will improve its speed. We plan to start installation by the end of the year. If you do wish you discuss any of this please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Thank you again.

Sincerely
Craig Newton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,755 - 2,759 of 3,089 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed for 5 nights in July 2011,

What a great hotel! Minutes from Queen Victoria Market which was fantastic.

10 - 15 minutes walk from main CBD, Federation Square and Southern Cross transport interchange. Due to the grid system, you can walk everywhere. MCG and Rod Laver Arena are 30 mins walk away.

Rooms were good value for money. Did not eat at the hotel, but the HQ's bar was good too.

Ben - The Kiwi Concierge was very knowledgable.

A great hotel in Melbourne - will eccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnogreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We bought a 2 night stay in a wotif "mystery deal" and finished up at the Radisson on flagstaff. We were highly impressed with our stay and found the polite and charming reception/concierge staff absolutely fabulous, nothing was a bother to them from pulling in a cab to changing a pillow for us, or giving us directions to a small laneway in CBD. The room while not being huge was more than adequate and quite comfortable. The bathroom while being a good size, had the shower over the bath which with my arthritic knee made it bloody painful to get in and out of, I don't know how the really elderly cope, I guess they would look for rooms with shower and no bath. The only annoying aspect of the whole experience
was the HQ's Restaurant & Bar connected with it, unless your 16 or under the loud background music will send you clearing out of there as it did us!

Room Tip: room ( 101 ) facing william st was quiet enough but the light filtered through the edge of the curta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellbent43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at the Radisson in Flagstaff Gardens. It is within walking distance of Southern Cross train station, the Victoria Market, Docklands and the city centre. Plus the free City Circle tram is very close. The staff are always helpful and pleasant. The rooms are clean, the beds and pillows are very comfortable - even the rollaway bed we have for our son. This will continue to be our hotel of choice in Melbourne when we visit.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Flagstaff GArdens because then you get a view of the Docklands as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Location is good, across from Flagstaff Gardens, plus close by Victoria market & very close to stop 8 on the free tourist bus.
Easy walking distance to collins st, Flinders lane etc....
Rooms are well appointed. With all ammenities, Bathrooms are spacious. Gym on the roof is very good & the adjoining Hot tub is great at night when the city is lit up.
We also liked the terrace at sun set, just the place to drink a galss of wine.
We had a rate that included breakfast & we found the buffet very good with all sorts of options. Plenty of newspapers available. Good for business or a weekend break.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Njhammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,585 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#4 of 161 in Melbourne
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,473 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $140 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing