We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Melbourne Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,914 - 3,918 of 5,371 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
1
Reviewed 29 March 2012

THe sofitel in Melbourne was a nice start to the Honeymoon, we did find some random advertising cards for exotic American ladies in the room, possibly a Housekeeping oversight, but our Sofitel experience was a good one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights coming from Perth. Being 5 star and definately not cheap we expected much more that we got, especially if you compare to Burswood in Perth which is 5 star. The room was so noisy!!! At 2am we were woken by our neighbours getting home and deciding to watch tv. Next day at 4pm we were entertained with a very private rendevous of the sexual nature.........not nice to listen to! We asked to be moved, but we had the same problems, listening to the man next door coughing all night and listening to the occupants going to the toilet! It was very over rated and overpriced. We asked for some ice for our room which you would think would be complimentary, but no, was told on the phone we would be charged $3.00. $4.00 for a cherry ripe $8.00 for a bottle of water! Why do you think so many people go to Bali? The city of Melbourne was fantastic, very easy to get around and friendly, we will definately be back, but not staying at Sofitel on Collins!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobra81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I obtained this hotel room for $70 less than the hotel website "advance internet rate" through a "wot hotel" deal. As this was belated anniversary trip, when I arrived I decided to upgrade to a luxury corner room which added less than the $70 I saved originally. I was given a room on the 48th floor with views of treasury gardens, Southbank, the yarra river and Port Phillip bay. My wife loved the views and the soft feeling bed (we are used to a water bed). We were offered a turn down service on our first night as well as some free bottled water. Later the first day we received a complimentary bottle of champagne and a card for our anniversary! Location was good also with several good restaurants close by and only a short walk to Rod Laver arena for the concert we were attending. Service was first class from the valet parking, porters, reception staff and room service. Only complaint was that they wanted $29/day for internet access which I declined but I found McDonalds (free wifi) straight across Collins St for the small amount of access I required. I would stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Go for a corner "luxury" room with water views if you can afford it. The higher the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigAussie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and always willing to assist, the room was very comfortable and our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,705 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 162 in Melbourne
4,393 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 162 in Melbourne
1,996 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,293 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 162 in Melbourne
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $264 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing