We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,026)
Filter reviews
5,026 results
Traveller rating
2,344
1,744
614
210
114
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,344
1,744
614
210
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harry's bar great location spa bath bedroom suite valet parking collins street lounge area small kitchen room service buffet breakfast central location enjoyable stay great room mini bar an upgrade concierge gym
Filter
Updating list...
4,416 - 4,421 of 5,026 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Whilst the rooms are of fantastic size with the bonus of bedroom and living area, the hotel does still appear to be a bit dated in some areas. The rooms are furnished nicely, but the bathroom is dated. The beds and pillows are very comfortable, and the blackout curtains are great in the morning. The service is fantastic. ALL staff were extremely attentive, polite and helpful. The room service and In Room Dining were superb with great choices. However, it is ridiculous to charge almost $17 for a movie which can be rented for less than $5 from a DVD shop. The hotel is not right in the centre of everything, so I did not feel comfortable walking from the city to the hotel at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid the traffic noise in the mornings.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddiOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear EddieOZ,

Feedback such as yours is extremely valuable to the hotel as it tells us what we are doing right and also marks areas for further improvement . Thank you for appreciating our high standard of service, it’s always a pleasure to fulfill our guest’s needs in this area. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed just one night in this hotel. Wow, were we impressed upon walking in and seeing the 20 story atrium. It was all set up in a Christmas theme which seemed inviting. We upgraded at check in to the Executive Suite upon check in. The room had a separate kitchen area and sitting area. Very clean and comfortable beds. The bathroom was very clean. The pool and sauna area was small, however not crowded with only a few other people using the facilities. Glad it was indoor since it was a rainy day for us. There are a lot of bars and restaurants within walking distance. This hotel is in a very safe area. We felt comfortable about walking around at night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear DiverDerek,

I’m pleased to read that your initial impressions of the hotel were positive and remained so throughout your stay. If you’re lucky enough to take a dip in our pool on a sunny day, the roof is retractable allowing guests to make the most of the sunshine. Thanks for writing a great recommendation, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

from the moment the concierge took the car keys on day 1 until he returned them on day 4 every member of this team treated us as though we were the only guests.
given that almost 100% occupancy was the norm for our stay this was exemplary.

Room Tip: get the breakfast buffet deal for only $2 with your room deal
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsay470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Dear lindsay470

Professional service with a smile, even when under pressure, is what we strive to achieve at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, thank you for recognising the efforts of our staff. We hope to welcome you back for another great stay in the near future.


Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed at the Stamford Plaza via a Mystery Hotel deal. We got a great rate and were pleasantly surprised! The hotel is in the CBD close to shopping and Federation Square. The lobby, atrium and glass elevator all very impressive. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which was quite lovely. Some on TA criticise the size of the bathroom but we found it perfectly formed and more than adequate. The lounge area had very comfortable furniture including a lounge, dining table and desk. The only slight downside was the bed needs upgrading although I did notice (during servicing) that other rooms did have more substantial beds, so I assume this is a work in progress. Harry's Bar was lovely for a quick drink before heading out for dinner. The whole hotel is a bit olde worlde. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sissy1B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Sissy1B,
You’ve found us which means no need to take a risk on a mystery hotel deal any more. We are very proud of the service and facilities at Stamford Plaza Melbourne and I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us – come back again soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My fiancée and I recently spent 4 nights in the Stamford Plaza and we received a complimentary upgrade on check-in which was really welcome. The king-suite was very well presented, clean and spacious, the staff were really friendly and the hotel is in an excellent location.

I would definitely stay in the Stamford again whenever I return to Melbourne.

Room Tip: As there are 2 seperate towers, try to get a room in the tower with the swimming pool and spa (if this is something you are interested in) as there is only 1 and this is on the 16th floor of the main tower. We stayed in the second tower which seemed to be a bit noisier as it was just above the pub on the ground floor below.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cormac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear CormacM,

Indulgent, central, and friendly….All the things that make for a great stay at a hotel. We always hope to give our guests an experience that leaves them with the impression you have. We look forward to seeing you again soon…perhaps for your wedding night!

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews