We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Funky, Modern and excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #18 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Ormeau, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Funky, Modern and excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed here on the last few nights of our visit to Melbourne and the GOR in September 2011. The room was well appointed, clean and modern. This hotel in right at the northern end of the Chapel Street precinct and only a short tram ride from the Melbourne CBD.

Would highly recommend this place to stay at. Staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Go the King Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    263
    79
    28
    15
See reviews for
131
421
72
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at The Como last night, it was great. The room was spacious and comfortable, the staff were very helpful. The hotel was lovely, we had a full breakfast with many options. There was nothing to complain about. The Como is in a fantastic part of Melbourne with great shops and restaurants all around. I'd love to go back and visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chestermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We recently stayed for 5 nights at The Como and will certainly stay there again. The location is just perfect. On previous visits we had stayed in the CBD but after enjoying the location on Chapel Street, I doubt that we will bother with the CBD again. It was just fantastic to step out of the hotel and be right on Chapel Street, almost on the corner of Toorak Road. The trams head along both (major) roads, so from The Como everything is very accessible. But you don't need to jump on a tram (though I love to catch them!). Chapel Street is a great shopping/dining street, and the Praharan Markets are a short walk away. The Como has been refurbished and the foyer now serves as a funky bar. Our room was HUGE! OK so the bathroom shows its age (we did love the spa bath in the 80's!) but the size of the room more than made up for that. I must mention the reception staff...they were wonderful, most attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The only shortcoming of The Como was the $35 per day parking charge...a bit rich we thought for leaving the car in the driveway of the hotel!

Room Tip: Our room looked over a pretty garden which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyfunBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you for choosing to stay at The Como Melbourne. We really appreciate your comments.

We agree that South Yarra is the perfect location in Melbourne – especially to shop.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Como Melbourne and it certainly lived up to the 5 star rating. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location, being in South Yarra was close enough to the city for convenience but far enough to feel more of a holiday location.

Close shops, restaurants and bars made for easy dining and shopping.

The room was spacious and comfy!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KylieF6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is such a pleasure to receive your positive feedback.

It is always an encouragement to the team to learn that we are doing something right ! We look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes,
Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager



Best Wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Most of the staff at this hotel are very nice and very helpful. It certainly has five-star features and facilities, however some maintenenace and upgrading is due. Great location! We stayed here for our 10 year wedding anniversary, as we had our wedding reception here, oh so long ago. We stayed on 'a package' which included breakfast, drinks, parking, movie tickets etc. There was a long hair in the bath-tub which you wouldn't expect at a five-star hotel. The bathroom smelled mouldy and the smell permeated into the room if we kept the door open. Some fixtures were loose in the bathroom. Very quiet, even though located on busy roads, and nice view of garden from the room. We used the lovely indoor pool with opening roof, sauna and outdoor sunbathing area. Pool required a bit of maintenance. Breakfast food was good, (we ordered a hot breakfast each), but there wasn't enough food put out in the buffet, and service required tweaking. We weren't allowed to have a free expresso coffee like others having breakfast, as we were 'on a package', which is a very poor policy! (How to make your guests feel like 2nd Class Citizens...) We were emailed a survey after we stayed, and then contacted re our comments/suggestions. They stated that they had already taken some actions in response, so it appears that they are trying to make improvements.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HospitalityPolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent in depth feedback in relation to your stay with us.
It is disappointing to learn that your room was not up to our usual high standard of presentation. This will be followed up with our housekeeping team. We hope to proceed with a rooms refurbishment in the near future which will address some of your concerns.

It is pleasing to learn that you enjoyed the location of your room and also the fact that your room was really quiet. I am also delighted to learn that you enjoyed your breakfast. To be clear, we don’t offer espresso coffee as a package component currently but based on your feedback it is an area of our breakfast offering that we will be reviewing.

We hope you will consider returning in the future.

Best Wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#22 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#17 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $228 - $409
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing