We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,664)
Filter reviews
2,664 results
Traveller rating
550
1,233
590
154
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
1,233
590
154
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ibis styles vic's bar heritage room great location swanston street central location federation square queen room the heart of the city budget hotel family room buffet breakfast definitely stay here again public transport gym cafes tram
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 2,664 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff and reasonable rates for such a central location. This is a no frills hotel and great if you’re planning to be out most of the time. In saying this the bed the is also pretty comfortable through the furniture, decor and even towels they supplied were a bit dated. All in all though, a good experience for what we paid

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KarenT4266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal B, S&M Coordinator at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Karen T,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide a review about The Victoria Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and appreciate your feedback about the dated furniture, decor and towels - our hotel is currently undergoing a staggered soft refurbishment, with our rooms to be refreshed in the process!

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
The Team at The Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

For 3 days that we stayed at the hotel, it was consistently noisy! I woke up on the 2nd and last day startled thinking there was an emergency. Our baby did not rest well during her day naps due to some renovations in the next rooms. I wish they gave us a room away from the renovation as I have indicated when we made the reservation that we have an infant. We love the location though, and the staff are friendly. Will definitely booked again for another melbourne visit next month and give this place a chance.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ez p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal B, S&M Coordinator at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear ez p,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide a review about The Victoria Hotel.

We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us was not completely satisfactory on this occasion. Our hotel is currently completing a staggered soft refurbishment - with only one area of the hotel affected at any given time. Subject to availability, you may request a room away from these works that is better suited to your family's needs.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback - we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you travel to Melbourne again next month.

Kind regards,
The Team at The Victoria Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the stay, because the Victoria Hotel is so much more affordable than other Melbourne hotels. This hotel turned out to be a bit of a find: a great price for a room right in central Melbourne. Comfortable bed, quiet room with space to spare - will stay here again for sure.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SAL466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal B, S&M Coordinator at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear SAL466,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide a review about The Victoria Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you appreciated our central location - it is great for those who want to make the most of what Melbourne has to offer!

Thank you again for your valuable feedback - we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you travel to Melbourne in future.

Kind regards,
The Team at The Victoria Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

I booked this for work as the Rydges in Exhibition St was full and thought this must be comparable as a “Rydges” loyalty hotel. Checkin was good and simple, however receipt for stay not given, only the eftpos print out.
The room was very basic, with a small fridge and tea and coffee in the wardrobe.
The adjoining restaurant was fast, but the food was terrible.
Checkout was appalling with a rude, self righteous and abnoxious woman checking me out. It turns out that car parking is not on a 24 hour basis, but you will be charged a full extra day if your car stays in past checkout. Rather than politely explain it, I got a face full of aggressive vitriol about the cost of parking in the city.
Upon collecting my car I had to wait nearly 30 minutes despite the car being in position and ready to go due to their single lane for both entry and departure.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Sophie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your first stay at The Victoria Hotel. Glad to hear the check in was smooth for you, I re sent a copy of the invoice to your email also - apologies this was only done in hard copy at check out. Unlike our 4 star friends at Rydges Hotels, we are 3.5 star - hence the more affordable price and slightly limited amenities, in saying that I do hope you felt comfortable in our newly refreshed rooms and were able to enjoy some of our additional facilities including our gym, indoor pool and sauna. I am very disappointed to read about your check out experience and will certainly be addressing with the team as it's completely unacceptable. You will note on your a refund for the additional car park charge to apologize for this poor experience. I truly thank you for providing us with this valuable feedback so we can improve upon and hope you will grant us another opportunity in the near future to look after you on your next Melbourne trip.

Many thanks,
Amy Trengove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Had two nights in Melbourne staying at the Victoria hotel very central, clean and comfortable. Short walk to three theatres, shopping centres all around and close to flinders street station. Would recommend this place for any occasion to visit Melbourne. Front of house staff very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank doublehookup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal B, S&M Coordinator at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear doublehookup,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide a review about The Victoria Hotel. We are pleased to hear that your stay was clean, comfortable and that you enjoyed our hotel's central location - it is great for those who want to make the most of what Melbourne has to offer! Thank you again for your feedback - we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
The Team at The Victoria Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews