We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
10
44
36
27
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
44
36
27
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leafy street fitzroy gardens yogurt a queen size bed breakfast was excellent close to public transport cbd heaps
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2017

What a dump! Came here several years ago and it was a nice place to stay with a delicious breakfast even though it was a bit like Fawlty Towers without Basil and Sybil. Now it's a complete dump. No care or maintenance about the place; a neglected look. The ensuite had no running hot water so I was advised to use a general bathroom which was dirty with a disgusting shower cubicle. The breakfast was very basic and was hurriedly got together 10 minutes before opening. I guess some overseas investor owns this and then a few locals help run it. I must say that the bed was comfortable with clean sheets. I was not impressed with the broken fly screen on the window. Even though this B and B is in a superb location I will have to avoid it in future.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I needed to be close to the Sports Precinct (MCG,AAMI, Tennis venues). A short 15 minute walk to the MCG. Perfect for me. An older building, but well kept and clean
inside. The serve yourself buffet style breakfast, with many choices, was very good.
Gary, the very friendly and helpful manager, will answer all your questions.

Room tip: I like the ground floor
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelinAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We had stayed at this B & B 3 years ago and thought it was good, so we thought we stay there again. It has changed hands during that time and has gone down hill rapidilly. when we stayed last time it had a rating around 8.5 this time it was 6.9
We stayed in room 7, the Curtains were torn, the decor or wallpaper was coming off the wall, the shower had mould, and hair dryer you could not use as it was not clean.The court yard looking out was full of weeds at least a meter high
When ask to speak to manager he was not available, Breakfast was ok but not many tables were wiped down when people left......... when leaving no one ask did you enjoy your stay??. My rating of this B & B would be 3.0 max

Room tip: For what they are charging not good value, needs alot of work done to restore it
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnwilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016

From the outside it looked like a lovely old building. Upon entering we were extremely disappointed in our choice of hotel. Interior was poorly maintained and the ceiling/walls showed signs of distress. We had booked a 'family room' and when we arrived at the room it was the size of our master room at home and they had squeezed x2 singles and a queen bed in. There was no ensuite in the room we were required to leave our room and head down the hall to a neighbouring bathroom which was tiny, shower not suitable for an adult. After our night out we did not feel comfortable staying so we packed our bags and left. Will not be recommending to anyone definitely not worth the $150 we wasted on it.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferM2976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We booked this as we had left things to the last minute and it seemed like a good option for the price and location. There are definitely some good features of this B&B. The location is nice as it is a pleasant walk into town, and close to a tram stop. There are also some bars, restaurants and cafes close by, as well as a convenience store where you can buy a Myki and top it up. The breakfast offerings were adequate. Nothing special, but provided a filling start to the day. The proprietors were very nice and friendly. We were able to get a car park, but it is a very difficult angle and would be extremely hard in a big car. However, there are definitely some areas for improvement. We booked in the 'family room' as there were three of us. The bedroom seemed clean and the beds were comfortable enough. The fridge had to be defrosted to make it work. The shower has lots of hot water, but doesn't feel particularly clean. The fire alarm had the battery taken out which was a bit disconcerting. The internet only worked in reception. Overall, it was a perfectly adequate option for what we paid - you get what you pay for. However, we would not return.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyRadojev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews