We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hatton Hotel
Ranked #119 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The Hatton is a beautiful small hotel located in South Yarra a short walk away from Toorak and with excellent restaurants and shops close by. There is a tram stop directly out front that takes you into the centre of Melbourne just 10mins away.The continental breakfast is lovely with cereals, fruit, pastries etc and the staff friendly and helpful providing dining and shopping suggestions. This was our second stay and we will return. Completely different from large impersonal hotels with a special feel about it. On the downside, room needs a spring clean, not dirty but dusty and door frames grubby. Prefer room on upper level as some noise on lower level.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaMaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    63
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
87
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Middle East
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Hotel of choice for the Australian Open. Great location near the wonderful Botanic Gardens in South Yarra. Also close to shops in Toorak. Good restaurants within 10 minutes walk. Check in friendly and quick. Breakfast service same. Nothing cooked but ample choice unless you are the full English type. Newspapers and ipad available in breakfast room. Borders more on a B&B more than a Boutique Hotel. Poor selection of wine and beer. Can be noisy from room to room movement. Staff very helpful and superior rooms well appointed. Bedding very clean but irons and kettles in rooms need upgrading.

Room Tip: top level superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I've been coming to the Hatton Hotel since 2001 and despite the years it continue to live up to its reputation. Voted one of the Cool Hotels in the Asia Pacific by teNeues - and it really is!

We stayed here during the Australian Open and its location and perfect proximity to the city and the tennis makes it an excellent place to be located throughout the tournament.... I've run an entire Australian Fashion Week campaign from here renting half of the hotel for my models and production team and running my press conference from the foyer... I've presented to buyers from Australia's largest fashion houses from their meeting room... and I've bought friends and family to stay for our momentous occasions for more than 10 years.

On this visit due to the Hotel being booked out, we stayed in a Standard Room, a Superior room and the Eastern Balcony Suite - all had the same fabulous qualities - polished wooden floors, unobtrusive service, fresh white towels, a wonderful nights sleep on soft cotton sheets and a bath big enough to relax in,

We especially like the Eastern Balcony Suite with its Asian antiques and relaxed, comfortable, and stylist ambience. The Eastern Balcony Suite is approximately 54 square meters and the private balcony is an impressive 24 square meters - this flat was bigger than our entire London Chelsea based apartment!

At the end of the street is 3 of Melbourne's best fine dining restaurants Bacash, The Botanical and The Milswyn, a delicious value for money local Thai restaurant "The Golden Triangle", a bookstore, wine bar "the Botanical", pharmacy, cafes and local 7/11 (with ATM). You could not ask for more.

The wines are locally made by the owner Peter Hatton and we especially liked his Pinot Grigio on this visit, taking a bottle to dinner one night to some local friends and enjoying another on the roof with a local cheese platter.

What makes a hotel this great is always its people. Taya and her team have been with the hotel for 10 years and during the years we have even seen the addition of 4 Hatton babies to the family as the team have matured.

We will certainly continue to make this our home away from home and we look forward to many more fabulous years spent at the Hatton and many more memorable moments.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Eastern Balcony Suite for those who need to work, rest and play.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeesaSoulodre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunn am Gebirge, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

4 nigths in this hotel, we loved the rooms, we had two because we came back after the Great Ocean Road trip. Comfortable beds, and the little art things placed everywere in the hotel are great and a inspiration. Breakfast in a nice ambiance.
8 minutes from the centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemieke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hotel is located near the city centre, the tram stops in front of the hotel, so travelling around Melbourne is easy. Rooms were clean and good, we enjoyed put stay very much. Breakfast in the morning is a treat.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_S_on_tour_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Royce Hotel
#33 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#83 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Property: The Hatton Hotel
Address: 65 Park St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#99 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $193 - $375
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing