We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$193
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$198
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$92
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (6,851)
Filter reviews
6,851 results
Traveller rating
2,613
3,170
800
187
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,613
3,170
800
187
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtravel lodgeeureka towersouth bankarts centreyarra riverflinders street stationroom was cleancrown casinorestaurants and barswithin walking distancegood sizewould stay againminute walkpublic transportgreat place to stayfree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
6,168 - 6,173 of 6,851 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The location of this hotel is the very best. Situated right on Southbank it gives walking access to the entire Yara river front.
Facilities are pretty basic and internet is chargeable. The staff at the frontdesk are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akhilbansal28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear akhilbansal28 ,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Travelodge on Southbank melbourne is in a great location which is a bonus but is pretty average in comparison to it's counterpart at the Docklands... The staff were doing enough just to get by in reception, when a hotel says breakfast is at 7am mean it, we had a tour booked and planned enough time for breakfast but it wasn't ready/opened at 7am and when it did finally start everything was cold eggs etc. Also the heating was so high during the night it made sleeping hard and dehydrating :(

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellinjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear travellinjess,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I have addressed your concerns with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Travelodge is a clean reasonably comfortable hotel in a great location. Parking is a bit of a drag as you have to park in a carpark on the other side of the road but reasonably priced. The rooms a re clean and adequate but a bit on the stark side. No minibar for those who like them and the ice machine in the lobby only provides stryrene cups to put the ice in. Not suitable for a bottle of wine!! The reception staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Good value for money if you only want a room to sleep in and do not mind missing out on the little luxuries of a more expensive hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon8822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Sharon8822,

The team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels sometime soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Have chosen Travelodge Southbank as my hotel for my stay in Melbourne, and will definitely not be coming back. For starters free WiFi for the guests is something most hotels offer in Sydney, but here I was being asked to pay almost $20 a day for the privilege. Outrageous.

There is no restaurant really in the hotel, sure you can have breakfast there, but dinner, it doesnt exist. You can get room service in your room, but it is coming from outside. Lucky there are a lot of restaurants and pubs near the hotel.

When you check in, you have $50 frozen on your credit card (to cover room service apparently), yet it takes 10 working days to "unfreeze" it. Great tv in the room, flat screen, yet the reception signal is poor. No minibar, there is a kettle and a whole bunch of milk in the fridge, yet, no coffee, and noone seemed to check if coffee is stocked or not for whole 3 days.

The only thing hotel has going for it is great location, right next to the skydeck and perhaps 5 minutes walk to the Crown complex.

Am certain there are better hotels for the similar price in Melbourne and I intend to stay in one of them next time I venture down there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Alec A,

I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback.

I have shared your feedback with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience.

Thanks again for providing your feedback and please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel if you would like to discuss your feedback in more detail.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We've stayed at this hotel many times. It is very reasonably priced for a city hotel, well located on Southbank and an easy walk to Flinders Street Station, the Casino, shopping areas, and Botanic Gardens. It has spacious rooms and friendly staff. We're looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We haven't had a problem with any of the rooms and we've stayed there many times.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Julie A,

The team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you keep coming back! Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive comments.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews