We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$339/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$163
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (6,764)
Filter reviews
6,764 results
Traveller rating
2,571
3,139
791
183
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,571
3,139
791
183
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtravel lodgeeureka towersouth bankarts centreyarra rivershort walkroom was cleanflinders st stationcrown casinobars and restaurantswithin walking distancegood sizewould stay againpublic transportcar parkinggreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
6,059 - 6,064 of 6,764 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I recently attended a conference at the Melbourne Convention Centre and the Travelodge was the closest hotel available within the accommodation budget. It is a 20 minute walk to the Convention Centre but the walk passes numerous restaurants and bars along side Yarra so it is a safe and easy stroll. The hotel itself was clean, tidy and centrally located to Flinders Station as well as the CBD, the Aquarium, the Victorian National Gallery etc.

Room Tip: It is next door to the Eureka Skydeck and hotel guests enjoy a discount there
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busybeeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear busybeeAustralia,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This hotel is cheap and cheerful and in a wonderfully convenient location for exploring Melbourne. We stayed there recently for a whirlwind weekend in Melbourne where we spent most of our time out and about with friends exploring Melbourne and its cafes, bars and restaurants. The hotel room is very basic, but that suited us because we were barely there. It was comfortable and spacious enough and suited us fine. There is no minibar in the room so you need ot purchase snacks from a vending machine downstairs and alcohol from reception if you feel the need.

The bathrooms are in need of a makeover but are serviceable. The tiles are very scuffed and look grotty but in fact, they are quite clean.

I would stay here again for the price and convenience but keep your expectations low.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear BrisFood,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This isn't as fancy as other hotels in Melbourne but in terms of value for money for location it's absolutely brilliant. You get all the facilities you need (although they were a bit stingy with the towels - 2 medium sized towels and 1 hand towel) and it's really quiet considering you're right on the Southbank. There's a 7-11 nearby to buy essentials and loads of restaurants along the river to choose from. You're right near Flinders Street station - just a quick walk across the bridge - and a little further and you're right in the centre. Could not fault the location. It's walking distance of everything including the free City Circle tram and the Tourist Shuttle bus.

Room was a good size and the facilities were good. The fridge and air con were quiet which helps with a good night's sleep. The only annoying thing was the smoke alarm flashing but at least you knew it was working! The bathroom was well equipped with a good sized shower (no bath but that seems pretty standard in Oz). Never used the WiFi due to the price but it was such good value for everything else I couldn't really complain. We didn't have breakfast included in our deal but there's loads of choice nearby or the 7-11 is handy. The staff were really friendly and looked after our cases on the first day when we arrived at 6am and even recommended a nearby cafe for breakfast (although sadly it wasn't open that early on a Sunday). They also let us have the room from 1pm which was so handy given we were shattered!

We were recommended to stay here by my parents who stayed here themselves. I was dubious of staying in a "Travelodge" as UK ones are pretty basic - but this is better than a UK one and it's such good value for the location I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank England_and_Beyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear England_and_Beyond,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed at the Travelodge earlier this month for 3 nights. The hotel is well located approx. 80 metres from the river & close to all the restaurants & bars at Southbank. The room was a good size and comfortable with a slight view of the river & city however the wifi is expensive at $10 per day so use the free wifi in the nearby restaurants.
We would stay again as it is a cheaper hotel in a good location

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view as not many will have the limited view
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likeatiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Likeatiger,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

A great place to stay. When you think of hotel chains offering decent, family accommodation that doesn't break the bank, you think of Travelodge, Holiday Inn, Howard Johnson... The Travelodge Southbank far exceeds that image.
The location on Southbank is perfect! A quick walk north across the Yarra River via the handy footbridge, through Flinders Station and you're in the heart of the city. Immediately out of the station is a stop for the free City Circle tram. A short walk east gets you to a stop for the free Tourist Shuttle bus. Both of these are excellent for getting around the city. A trip on each would soon get your bearings and give lots of ideas of places to go back to.
Efficient, friendly Reception staff; spacious, well decorated room; all the facilities (Internet, laundry) you could want; great breakfast; easy walk to dozens of restaurants and cafes, gardens and sports arenas (the tour of the Melbourne Cricket Ground is a must).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tauwhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Tauwhare,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews