We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Ranked #53 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Great location and good rates. Very convenient to all transport, and features. We were there for a wedding at the National Gallery (6 minutes walk), then for the Southbank market on Sunday morning. Basic kitchen facilities allowed for cheap catering, or close access to numerous eating places.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzies-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Lizzies-Travels,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,385 - 5,389 of 6,070 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

I recently attended a conference at the Melbourne Convention Centre and the Travelodge was the closest hotel available within the accommodation budget. It is a 20 minute walk to the Convention Centre but the walk passes numerous restaurants and bars along side Yarra so it is a safe and easy stroll. The hotel itself was clean, tidy and centrally located to Flinders Station as well as the CBD, the Aquarium, the Victorian National Gallery etc.

Room Tip: It is next door to the Eureka Skydeck and hotel guests enjoy a discount there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busybeeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear busybeeAustralia,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This hotel is cheap and cheerful and in a wonderfully convenient location for exploring Melbourne. We stayed there recently for a whirlwind weekend in Melbourne where we spent most of our time out and about with friends exploring Melbourne and its cafes, bars and restaurants. The hotel room is very basic, but that suited us because we were barely there. It was comfortable and spacious enough and suited us fine. There is no minibar in the room so you need ot purchase snacks from a vending machine downstairs and alcohol from reception if you feel the need.

The bathrooms are in need of a makeover but are serviceable. The tiles are very scuffed and look grotty but in fact, they are quite clean.

I would stay here again for the price and convenience but keep your expectations low.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear BrisFood,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This isn't as fancy as other hotels in Melbourne but in terms of value for money for location it's absolutely brilliant. You get all the facilities you need (although they were a bit stingy with the towels - 2 medium sized towels and 1 hand towel) and it's really quiet considering you're right on the Southbank. There's a 7-11 nearby to buy essentials and loads of restaurants along the river to choose from. You're right near Flinders Street station - just a quick walk across the bridge - and a little further and you're right in the centre. Could not fault the location. It's walking distance of everything including the free City Circle tram and the Tourist Shuttle bus.

Room was a good size and the facilities were good. The fridge and air con were quiet which helps with a good night's sleep. The only annoying thing was the smoke alarm flashing but at least you knew it was working! The bathroom was well equipped with a good sized shower (no bath but that seems pretty standard in Oz). Never used the WiFi due to the price but it was such good value for everything else I couldn't really complain. We didn't have breakfast included in our deal but there's loads of choice nearby or the 7-11 is handy. The staff were really friendly and looked after our cases on the first day when we arrived at 6am and even recommended a nearby cafe for breakfast (although sadly it wasn't open that early on a Sunday). They also let us have the room from 1pm which was so handy given we were shattered!

We were recommended to stay here by my parents who stayed here themselves. I was dubious of staying in a "Travelodge" as UK ones are pretty basic - but this is better than a UK one and it's such good value for the location I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank England_and_Beyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear England_and_Beyond,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed at the Travelodge earlier this month for 3 nights. The hotel is well located approx. 80 metres from the river & close to all the restaurants & bars at Southbank. The room was a good size and comfortable with a slight view of the river & city however the wifi is expensive at $10 per day so use the free wifi in the nearby restaurants.
We would stay again as it is a cheaper hotel in a good location

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view as not many will have the limited view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likeatiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear Likeatiger,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 161 in Melbourne
5,184 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,409 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $139 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travelodge
Melbourne Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing