We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Nearby Hotels
US$113
US$109
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$84
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$110
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (6,689)
Filter reviews
6,689 results
Traveller rating
2,540
3,107
782
182
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,540
3,107
782
182
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtravel lodgeeureka towersouth bankarts centreyarra rivershort walkflinders street stationroom was cleancrown casinorestaurants and barswithin walking distancewould stay againgood sizepublic transportgreat place to staycar parking
Filter
Updating list...
6,390 - 6,395 of 6,689 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Stayed here after reading Tripadvisor reviews.
Location excellent -short walk to the Yarra river, restaurants, theatre, Flinders st station & city.
Room basic. We found 3 adults were accommadated adequately. The staff were very helpful giving us directions to various tourist attractions and even promptly changing a light bulb late one night. Avoid room 325 which is next to the laundry.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

I stayed here on my trip to Melbourne during a very busy season around Christmas/New Years. For the price this ended up being an above average place to stay.

It was a little hidden located behind some buildings on the main strip of the river but was still an excellent location as its within walking distance of a lot main Melbourne attractions.

The front desk was very friendly and was helpful if you are unfamiliar with the area or wanting to find a certain restaurant.

You are not going to get a view but you will get a nice comfortable room which also included a fridge and microwave.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the Travelodge especially for single travelers wanting to enjoy the nightlife in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank revproj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

We stayed at the Travelodge in Melbourne for 3 nights. I would have given the hotel a Excellent rating except for the problem that we encountered when we checked in and we had to move twice to different rooms because of the smoke smell. The 9th floor of the Hotel used to be for smokers and when we checked in the room (even though it is non smoking now and they completely refurbished the rooms) just reeked of smoke. After telling the staff of the problem, they moved us to another room... on the same floor. Then they said they would 'ozone' out the room to get rid of the smell and we went about melbourne for dinner and sightseeing. When we returned the room still reeked of smoke. At that point I went and talked to the staff again seeing if they had any cancellations (To which i believe he thought I wanted to cancel my reservations) and then he finally moved us to the 7th floor and all was better for the 3 days.

The Travelodge is in the perfect place to enjoy exploring Melbourne, Dining out, as well as catching a taxi to other parts of the city due to a taxi stand being directly outside the hotel. To eat, just go next door to the southbank mall and you can find anything to your hearts desire to eat!

The staff, I feel, truely were concerned for our comfort for our stay.

If you are a non-smoker and stay here, make sure you dont get assigned to the 9th floor.

My deaf wife was disappointed that the television did not have caption/teletext available

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrangeBlueCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2008

Great location but terrible service. I found the front desk staff to be rude, bland and not very helpful. Very disappointing because it seems as if this hotel rides on its location rather than offering decent service for the $150/nt AUD that was paid.

The bed was rickety, the floors needed a good vacuum and the hotel could not even offer us a hand towel! When extra towels were requested they never arrived.....the list goes on.

Am interested to hear if there are any other alternative hotels in a similar city location that offer better service for the price....

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Camnicsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

Stayed at Travelodge in March on Easter weekend. one of the best hotel experiences in entire australia journey. Location is awesome as it is close to all what Mel B has to offer. Sky edge is just next door, yarra river in 1 min walk and south banks has teh best dining scene in Mel B.Close to Flinders street station if u r planning to use public transport. Rooms are a bit small but still highly manageable. would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nkhosla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews