We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne travel lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Ranked #53 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2008

Stayed at the Travel lodge from 13th to 18th of April 2008, for 5 nights. We found the hotel to be in an excellent location/ position, convenient for just about everything, transport, restauraunts, theatres, and next to the Yarra river, for boat trips,and a very short walk to the flinders st train station, and trams, MCG cricket ground, and the Rod Laver tennis arena. The hotel itself was very clean , busy yet quite, and the staff were more than helpful when required. The standard twin room was a good size , with TV, although the beds were a little on the narrow size. the bathroom was spacious with walk in shower, toilet and wash basin, tea facilities were provided ,along with an ironing board and iron. The lifts to all floors made life very easy. Internet facilities are available in the rooms, or in the hotel lobby. All in all an excellent experience, and would definately use again and recommend to anyone looking for a decent hotel thats not overly priced. Keith.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cinzano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,778 - 5,782 of 6,059 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2008

Stayed here after reading Tripadvisor reviews.
Location excellent -short walk to the Yarra river, restaurants, theatre, Flinders st station & city.
Room basic. We found 3 adults were accommadated adequately. The staff were very helpful giving us directions to various tourist attractions and even promptly changing a light bulb late one night. Avoid room 325 which is next to the laundry.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

I stayed here on my trip to Melbourne during a very busy season around Christmas/New Years. For the price this ended up being an above average place to stay.

It was a little hidden located behind some buildings on the main strip of the river but was still an excellent location as its within walking distance of a lot main Melbourne attractions.

The front desk was very friendly and was helpful if you are unfamiliar with the area or wanting to find a certain restaurant.

You are not going to get a view but you will get a nice comfortable room which also included a fridge and microwave.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the Travelodge especially for single travelers wanting to enjoy the nightlife in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank revproj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

We stayed at the Travelodge in Melbourne for 3 nights. I would have given the hotel a Excellent rating except for the problem that we encountered when we checked in and we had to move twice to different rooms because of the smoke smell. The 9th floor of the Hotel used to be for smokers and when we checked in the room (even though it is non smoking now and they completely refurbished the rooms) just reeked of smoke. After telling the staff of the problem, they moved us to another room... on the same floor. Then they said they would 'ozone' out the room to get rid of the smell and we went about melbourne for dinner and sightseeing. When we returned the room still reeked of smoke. At that point I went and talked to the staff again seeing if they had any cancellations (To which i believe he thought I wanted to cancel my reservations) and then he finally moved us to the 7th floor and all was better for the 3 days.

The Travelodge is in the perfect place to enjoy exploring Melbourne, Dining out, as well as catching a taxi to other parts of the city due to a taxi stand being directly outside the hotel. To eat, just go next door to the southbank mall and you can find anything to your hearts desire to eat!

The staff, I feel, truely were concerned for our comfort for our stay.

If you are a non-smoker and stay here, make sure you dont get assigned to the 9th floor.

My deaf wife was disappointed that the television did not have caption/teletext available

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrangeBlueCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2008

Great location but terrible service. I found the front desk staff to be rude, bland and not very helpful. Very disappointing because it seems as if this hotel rides on its location rather than offering decent service for the $150/nt AUD that was paid.

The bed was rickety, the floors needed a good vacuum and the hotel could not even offer us a hand towel! When extra towels were requested they never arrived.....the list goes on.

Am interested to hear if there are any other alternative hotels in a similar city location that offer better service for the price....

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Camnicsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 161 in Melbourne
5,171 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,405 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $139 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travelodge
Melbourne Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing