We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hostel I've ever been to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Melbourne Connection
Ranked #135 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Don't book this hostel!!
I've stayed in this hostel only two nights and am more than happy that I didn't extend. The inconvience started straight at arrival time, check-in time was pushed back another hour and the storage room was way too small. Talking about small: the kitchen. The fridge was stuffed with food (not quite sure if they ever check on left behinds), dirty and rusty pans/pots/dishes, unbearable heat, no more than 3 people cooking at a time. The dorms were just as dirty as the kitchen and not to mention the showers - dust, hairs, garbage everywhere. Matresses were gross and uncomfortable and the free Wifi either didn't work or was slow as a sloth. I was so happy when we were getting ready to leave and move on from this hostel, but the happiness didn't last long. Because we were missing one key (which we paid 30$ deposit for) we were skimming through our room and stuff which made us miss the check-out only by 10!! minutes. So when we gave up on the key and went downstairs not only were we charged the 30$ depsit (which would have been okay, cause we lost the key) but 40$ in addition because of 'late check-out'. The staff wasn't even a bit understanding and became really mean to another traveller who missed the check-out only by five minutes.
All in all: crappy hostel, not worth one cent, never gonna stay here again.

Room Tip: Just don't book any room at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laauraame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

With lots of dorm units and lots of interesting travellers, it would be possible to enjoy your stay at Melbourne Connection- if only the basic cleaning was maintained to s much higher standard.

Bathroom cleaning was poor and had to be requested, the shared kitchen was often filthy and the bench tops really poor quality.

But St Kilda is a great area with plenty going on, plus fantastic team transport into the city- or elsewhere- and so the 2 star rating becomes a 3.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

I have stayed in this hostel for almost 9 months now, and I wouldn't want to stay elsewhere.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and I have become friends with many of them.
The location is perfect, close to Southern Cross station and on the edge of the CBD.

The hostel is generally clean, the kitchen can be quite messy at times, however that is usually due to the few guests who refuse to clean up after themselves.

The hostel is quite small, which means a lot of the guests get to know each other quite well, which leads to a great family atmosphere.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a cheap comfortable stay in Melbourne!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

The Melbourne Connection, although convenient and cheap, is still brought down by its lack of cleanliness and comfort.

While staying here with my girlfriend the room itself was quite bare and not all that comfortable. Right outside was a public TV area which can be quite loud throughout the night. Not to mention there are usually people passed out from drinking when you wake up in the morning. The room was not bad if it was not for the noise.

The worst thing about the hostel had to be the kitchen area, the guests seldom cleaned up after themselves leaving dirty dishes everywhere (come to find out many of the guests are also working there part time and are the ones usually the ones who prefer to party than to tend to the responsibilities of the hostel). On many occasions I also found small cockroaches lining the walls in the kitchen.

The plus would have to be the location, which is right near the main train/bus/tram station and only a short walk to China Town.

The staff were okay, pretty much young kids with a pretty nonchalant attitude, which can be both good and bad.

Overall, the hostel needs improvement. If they worked hard I bet they would have a pleasant place to stay. But at the moment they have a ways to go. Many times while going out in Melbourne my girlfriend and I would see the hostel from across the street and kinda wished we had stayed there instead.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggy28104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015 via mobile

This hostel has some great positives and some big negatives. The main positive is the location, next to Southern Cross station in the centre of the CBD it's location is great. It was very cheap considering many hostels hiked up the prices for the Formula 1 weekend and for the price the beds were a comfy sleep. However you need to get to sleep first, the walls must have been paper thin as you could hear everything going on in the bar next door and the pipes ran through the room, so every time someone flushed we could hear it. I feel more could be done social wise (I.e hostel nights out) as it seemed all the different nationalities didn't mix that well...lastly it could do with some serious modernising, I would have guessed the building was built in the 60's and it has stayed that way ever since. Not the best hostel and not the worst, if you want a value for money stay this hostel is the one.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank William290494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#99 of 161 in Melbourne
2,422 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#115 of 161 in Melbourne
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#112 of 157 in Melbourne
157 reviews
Discovery Melbourne
#121 of 157 in Melbourne
501 reviews
Central Business District
Nomads All Nations Hostel
Nomads All Nations Hostel
#82 of 157 in Melbourne
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melbourne Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melbourne Connection

Address: 205 King St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $22 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Melbourne Connection 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Connection is a small, friendly hostel. Minutes walk from Southern Cross Station. Perfectly based for your stay in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Melbourne Connection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing