We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel once inside the room ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel is lovely but situated in/next door to the Melbourne Children’s Hospital. It seems to share an entrance with the Hospital which can make checking in distressing as distressed parent rush their Children through. It isn’t the main hospital entrance but it’s easy to confuse the two.
That said once in the rooms they are beautiful, quiet and comfortable. The corner exec rooms have a double aspect view over the park and city skyline. It’s easy to get a good nights sleep here

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank BritOzz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeline H, Duty Manager at Art Series - The Larwill Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thankyou for your review BritOzz66,

For our future guests reading at home; while the Larwill Studio is located next to The Royal Children's Hospital complex, it is not a main entrance to the hospital, nor does it seem like it.
We are very proud of both our beautiful rooms (as you mentioned), and our inspiring foyer space. It is a communal area for our guests that is full of light, life and colour, and is also a highlight of the Larwill experience for many of our guests.
The corner Parkview Workspace that you've mentioned provide an incredible view of Royal Park and the Melbourne city skyline, which you can enjoy from the superb comfort of our Art Series Signature Bed.

We're glad you enjoyed your room and hope to welcome you back to The Larwill again soon!

Warm Regards,
Madeline
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 114 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017

Excellent customer service, very spacious room, comfy king sized bed and the biggest walk-in shower ever! Everything was pristine clean and looked brand new. Very happy with my Saturday night stay for a wedding nearby, the midday checkout was a bonus. Only negative was the coffee I grabbed on my way out from the cafe downstairs... awful!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeline H, Duty Manager at Art Series - The Larwill Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thanks for your feedback Jo B,

Your lovely comments about our rooms are spot on. All our rooms provide guests with a relaxing and spacious atmosphere, and as you mentioned, the rainfall showers are amazing!
I will pass on your review to our Housekeeping team, they do an incredible job at making it seem like the hotel was opened last week, not 4 years ago!

We hope to welcome you back to The Larwill Studio again soon Jo!

Warm Regards,
Madeline
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

This was my tenth stay according to the hotel and was presented with some drinks in an ice bucket for my continued loyalty with the hotel. Nice to be wanted.
Also nice rooms and great sleep, location is a good twenty minute walk to Lygon street for a fed.
Will be back again

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank R2442PCsteveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeline H, Duty Manager at Art Series - The Larwill Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thankyou for your review and continued loyalty R2442PCsteveb!

Our return and regular guests are so important to us at The Larwill, and as such we want to celebrate milestone stays with something a bit special! We're thrilled to hear that you will be back again and that you enjoy your stays.

See you next time at The Larwill!

Warm Regards,
Madeline
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Fabulous hotel that is made 'special' by the art collection featured everywhere. Staff were fabulous, rooms well appointed with a novel twist and sense of humor that makes a break from the ordinary of other hotels. Very convenient to hospitals and research centers. On site restaurant is very good (although some of the restaurant staff were a bit clueless). They have SMART cars for rent - which I didn't need this trip but might use in the future. Short walk to some great neighborhood restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeline H, Duty Manager at Art Series - The Larwill Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

What a fabulous review David A!

You've hit the nail on the head, The Larwill is far from ordinary! We pride ourselves on providing our guests with an unique and inspiring experience each time they stay.
Our Smart Cars are a fun perk that we encourage all our guests to use. For only $50 a day, they're a great option for those who want to explore Melbourne.

Warm Regards,
Madeline
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

This was our second stay and it was as good as the first. Rooms are clean, large, bed is super comfortable, beautiful park and city views. Home-y touchess like books and magazines were great, plus healthy minibar options. Also like the fact that there is an on-site cafe, plus extra shops (supermarket and pharmacy were convenient) in the adjoining hospital. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 574jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeline H, Duty Manager at Art Series - The Larwill Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thanks for your lovely comments 574jess!

We are always striving to provide our guests with a warm and welcoming experience at The Larwill, and we're thrilled to hear we could do this for you again. You've also mentioned some of my favourite things about our rooms. The book and magazine selection in all of our rooms is definitely worth putting time aside to peruse, plus we have an extensive library of assorted reading material in the foyer!
Our minibar is great as you can indulge without feeling too guilty! The Trail-mix, protein bars and kombucha are favourites.

We look forward to seeing you at the Larwill for stay number 3!

Warm Regards,
Madeline
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
796 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,605 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
3,578 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 161 in Melbourne
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Larwill Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Larwill Studio

Address: 48 Flemington Rd | Parkville, Melbourne, Victoria 3052, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Parkville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $133 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Series - The Larwill Studio 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Inspired in Melbourne's north at The Larwill Studio on Flemington Road, Parkville. Just a hop away from the CBD, Melbourne Zoo, Queen Victoria Markets, Flemington Race Track, Melbourne University and a myriad of unique cafes and boutiques it's an enviable location. Dedicated to the very lovable Australian artist, David Larwill, the boutique hotel draws inspiration from his Studio. With bright, playful Larwill works complementing the contemporary design and incredible views of green parklands and the city, The Larwill Studio is the perfect place for contemplation, creation and inspired thinking. As part of the new Commercial precinct at the Royal Children's Hospital on Flemington Road, Parkville, The Larwill Studio's location is perfect for discovering the north of Melbourne and the CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Larwill Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing