We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner”
Review of Punch Lane

Punch Lane
Ranked #15 of 4,256 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$32
Cuisines: European, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Description: A Melbourne institution now in its 22nd year Punch Lane is situated at the Paris end of the CBD near Parliament . We are also in the theatre precinct and perfect for a pre/post show bite to eat . glass of wine or a plate of cheese . Our food style is Modern European with Australian overtones , there is an extensive range of wines by the glass as well as an array of beers and spirits . We are house in one of the original CBD police stations as we where situated in the heart of the red light district of the time . We also boast the original chairs from the Southern Cross Hotel which was the home of the Beatles during their Australian Tour . We look forward to seeing you for a relaxed lunch, a glass of wine or an intimate dinner.
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Dined at Punch Lane to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Selected the restaurant because of its location to our hotel,Trip Advisor reviews and they accept the Entertainment Book Gold Card.
It was a good decision because the food was great, service excellent and the wine list extensive. Definitely worth a visit to this restaurant at the top end of town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shadydee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinPirc, Owner at Punch Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for trying us out :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

We actually stopped in here twice in one night so that would indicate how much we enjoyed this restaurant. We stopped in for pre-show drinks and a charcuterie board. Beautiful wine from an extensive wine list and a lovely selection of meats. The parfait was to die for. I wanted to lick the jar clean :). We returned after the show for a light dinner/supper. The twice baked souffle was divine and my husband loved the pork belly. Without a doubt the desserts were the highlight though. One of the best desserts I had eaten in a long time and they just finished the meal beautifully. We left with very happy bellies and we will definitely go back next time we are in Melbourne.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinPirc, Owner at Punch Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Look forward seeing you on your return ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Dined here last night for our anniversary. Quaint, classy and rustic. Beautiful food. We had a charcuterie board, and the grilled haloumi. I had the seared wallaby with Jerusalem artichoke which was perfect.
An abundance of wine choices. Cheese choices if you're into further indulging.
Can't recommend it highly enough.

Thank Mrs_Grixti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinPirc, Owner at Punch Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

We really appreciate your review , all the best form us at Punch Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Went to Punch Lane pre theatre. They were able to get us in and out in 45 minutes. The food was stunning, service impeccable and the ambience great. Would really recommend. Thank you!

1  Thank Hazel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinPirc, Owner at Punch Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Awesome !!! hope the show delivered as well :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Dined here last night before seeing a show at Comedy Theatre. We enjoyed the braised beef croquettes to start, (delicious), hubby had scallops for entrée and said they were delicious, I had the pork loin for main and hubby had the wallaby – we both enjoyed our mains, lots of flavour and very well presented. For dessert I had the lemon & ricotta cheesecake and hubby had the chocolate mousse – again we both enjoyed our desserts and they were well presented. For drinks I enjoyed a mojito (very tasty and well made) and hubby enjoyed a few beers. Service was friendly and informative. Great place, on the pricey side so would recommend for special occasion or fine dining outing. In the entertainment book so we enjoyed a good discount off our total bill at the end. A great night out and will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shweta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinPirc, Owner at Punch Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you for your warm review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punch Lane also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Punch Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing