We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unaccomodating” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alderney on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alderney on Hay
Ranked #66 of 79 Hotels in Perth
perth western australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“unaccomodating”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel for my daughters wedding. The accomodation wasn't that bad as a budget hotel, but the staff were discusting. Totally unhelpful, I had an hours drive in and requested early check in so as to get ready there instead of at home. Despite repeated requests this was not possible due to "housekeeping". We were also unable to park earlier and were told to make alternative arrangements, no mean feat in the city on a Saturday afternoon.We recieved one permit and were told to come back right in the middle of the wedding to get another one. Needless to say we parked without one anyway, as there was no way of leaving the wedding. I just found the level of service was non exsistent and couldn't understand why they couldn't accomodate our request as it was a special occasion. By the way the hotel was no where near full.

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bella3810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    62
    48
    43
    69
See reviews for
116
23
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed in this place for three nights - never again. The electricity failed in the apartment two nights in a row. The first night the fuse blew and the five of us, including 3 young kids, were left in the dark with the front door of the apartment wedged open to let light in. It took them half an hour to get the electricity back on. We were promised that an electrician would come out to have a look and fix the problem the next day but......bang, same thing happened the second night. They didn't bother sending out an electrician. This was all bad enough, but it was the attitude of the staff which was the icing on the cake. They did nothing to address the problem - when we asked for compensation for the inconvenience and the ruining of our stay, including recompense for spoilt food when the fridge was off for the whole of the second night when the electricity tripped after we went to bed, we were basically told that it should have been all right to eat and offered a derisory $15 for ínconvenience. We weren't allowed to deal directly with the manager and basically told take it or leave it. We didn't take up their offer. Communication between the staff was woeful and they can only be desribed as totally unprofessional, and that's being nice. Stay at your peril, there's better than this in the price range.

Room Tip: Better choosing a good hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sue255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I have stayed at this place a number of times and am shocked at all the bad reviews!! Yes the hotel is a little old - but its clean and roomy, the apartment we stayed in had 1 x double bed, 2 x single beds, lounge area with a fold out sofa and bathroom,kitchen and laundry. You definitily get your value for money and even a nice little balcony. It is comfortable and clean its not super flash but what do you expect? If your staying with a group its perfect! We have always been happy to stay here as a cheaper option. Ive stayed here with family friends and my partner - we have all thought it was perfectly fine !!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

During the weekend we stayed in a two bedroom apartment. We were very happy with the service, the room was clean, it was cosy, beds were comfortable and overall it was a great place to stay, and we will definately be staying again. With regards to the wheelclamping as mentioned in other reviews, dont worry. When you check in they give you a green voucher to be displayed on your dash, they tell you to do this. In the elevator there is another notice to say leave the voucher on your dash at all times and then in your room, in the hotel information it is mentioned again. As for the second car most other hotels charge $20 per night for the extra car.Do take your rubbish out and put in bins provided in carpark. Overall hotel is reasonably priced and if you dont expect 5 star, you will be very happy!

Room Tip: Dont sleep with window open, street very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelly Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Booked this last minute on line as we were desperate for accommodation in Perth - had a heart attack when I read the bad reviews after I had already paid. HOWEVER was pleasantly surprised, yes the decor is a bit dated and there were some mold stains (not actual mold) in the shower but Ive seen those at the Mantra 3 doors up as well at double the price. The 2 bedroom suite was clean & comfortable, well equipped kitchen and laundry - heaps of space. Dont know what other rooms were like but ours was fine. No problems with parking - read the instructions and park in the right spot and place permit on the dashboard and you wont have a problem. Easy check in and check out. Cafe downstairs on site. Perth free tourist bus stops out front on other side of road. Really good italian restaurant 100metres up the road towards the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgian_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#64 of 79 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra on Hay
#27 of 79 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#38 of 79 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderney on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Property: Alderney on Hay
Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Perth
Price range (per night): $98 - $195
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing