We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed for our first two nights in New Zealand from the UK and again for our last night before flying on to Brisbane. We expected an hotel room and we found we had a suite with two bedrooms, living room, bathroom and a well equipped kitchen. A family of four could quite happily have self catered in comfort.

The decor in the rooms is pleasing and well maintained. The decor in the public areas is in a shabby chic "Blade Runner" style and takes a bit of getting used to :-)

Our only minor grouse was that the small single elevator struggled to cope with the traffic at times.

The centre of Auckland is five minutes walk away and we had no problem travelling to and from the airport using the shuttle bus or reaching the hotel from the railway station and the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick_Roche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

The rooms at Celestion are spacious and very comfortable. We appreciate your comments and thank you for acknowledging the close proximity we have to the CBD.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,097 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

After a 27 hour flight from London this apartment was a welcoming place to get our heads together before really starting our trip. It is easily found from where the airport bus drop off, it is very central to get around to see the sights of Auckland and is very spacious and comfortable.
There is a super market just around the corner where you can stock up for your stay (they have some good NZ Vino in stock). There is also a very good Indian Restaurant on site where if you are a guest to receive a discount on your bill.
In all a very comfortable stay and if I were to go back to Auckland in the near future would defiantly return to these apartments.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StubStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Countdown is the 24hr supermarket mentioned and this provides great opportunities for our guests who stay for a few nights or a starting their NZ travels. We also minutes from Britomart and the CBD. Celestion's location and convenience to many attractions is one of its strongest attributes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed here for three nights, ending our New Zealand tour.
Where pleasantly surprised by the apartment and kitchen amenities provided.
Everything was clean, new and in good condition.

Reception was always very helpful and friendly however entrance/reception area a bit dark and in a strange styling that we where glad was not repeated for the rooms.

Indian restaurant in the lobby was great.

Walking distance to downtown, wharf and restaurants so you do not have constant need for your car.

Only downside is distance to Parking: you pass several other parking options on the way from the hotel to the parking establishment they advise, and it's a bit of a walk. There are no hotel in/out privileges on parking, and it a public facility so it can be full during the day.

Would definitely recommend this place to others if you are staying for more than a single night in Auckland.

Room Tip: Get a high floor and you will have skyline view of Auckland and avoid any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you found its location convenient during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Excellent hotel at a very good price.. spent 3 nights(24 -27 April, 2012 and would definately return...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Chet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

1Chet, looking forward to welcoming you back to the Celestion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Outside of the building (red, black and white) and the inside concrete is not much to look at. However, the inside of the apartment room is wonderful and very very comfortable: clean, spacious, big kitchen, big fridge, two bedrooms, nice bathroom (but no bath), nice TV, balcony.

There is only one elevator, which was a bit of an issue (we were on the 17th floor), as we had to wait long sometimes; we went out-of-season and I can't imagine what it would be like in season, when the hotel may be really full.

Location on the edge of the city centre is very good. No free wi-fi. Indian restaurant inside which looked good but we didn't try it.

Taxi from the hotel to the international airport cost us NZD 55, although the guy at the reception had estimated NZD 35.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

The building is unique in design with an Industiral flare. The hotel rooms are spacios and modern. Baths in many hotels are being removed as many look to become more environmental and conserve on water consumption. Discount Cabs are the only cab company who take $35 cash for a car to the airport this is who we promote. If the cab company you took was different then this rate wouldnt apply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,694 reviews
0.6 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,294 reviews
0.3 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
996 reviews
1.7 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
1.3 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $143 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing