We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We (my husband and I, late 40's) stayed here for 4 nights enroute to Australia. We arrived at 7am, direct from Canada. With a few hours of sleep, we were looking to drop our luggage and head out for breakfast and the hop on hop off city bus tour. We were met by friendly staff who checked us in early and upgraded our room to a 2 bedroom apartment. It seems if there is availability, they will accommodate and we were thrilled to be able to quickly shower and rest for an hour before heading out. The room was clean, modern and roomy. Although we had no use for the 2nd bedroom, we did enjoy how it offered a second patio to give us morning sun for our coffee on one patio, and late afternoon sun for a cold beer on the second patio. Great price, walking distance to everything and I've already recommended it to friends traveling here in late January. Wifi is available and we made use of it for I believe $20 charge for our whole stay.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Shadowpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,036 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights - Nov 2012.

Extremely comfortable and well equipped apartment. Location is great - very easy access to anything in central Auckland - or the ferry.

So why 4 stars rather than 5?

The owners need to do something about the first impression you get. The lobby is dark and gloomy and the lift areas shabby. To be honest - if we hadn't have pre-booked I'd have probably walked away before we saw the apartment.

Get past that first impression - and it's a really good place to pick for central Auckland.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Celestion over New Years 2012/13 and had an absolute ball!
I booked through Expedia online and got a good deal.
Our room was in Emily Towers on the tenth floor. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a rollaway bed in the living room for our third child.
The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed.
We used the kitchen for breakfast and even a couple of dinners. We had afternoon tea on the balcony.
I used the gym at the Scene One building over the road one morning and was pleased to see that I had the place completely to myself.
Auckland feels like a big city, it has all the modern conveniences at a short walk.
The Celestion is a couple of blocks from the main strip on Queen St but we are happy to walk.
The staff were always friendly and happy to help with our queries.
If you have a car with you then parking at $18 a day (off site) will add to your budget. All of Auckland's best CBD attractions are at a comfortable walking distance, including the Skytower so you probably won't need a car while you're here unless you're venturing out into the suburbs.
If you like Indian food (we do) then the Little India restaurant downstairs is worth a visit too.
In summary, the Celestion was a great choice for us. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helgap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My family and i stayed here for a couple of nights in the family apartment just before Xmas.
Parking is a wee bit of a hassle for drop off and pick up, but the service was faultless :)
The rooms are well appointed, pretty much all new and up to date.
The apartments are in walking distance to everything in the inner city.
The only thing we can pick a hole in the place was the ventilation system was a bit to noisy and couldn't be turned off for sleeping at night.
We would stay again, when visiting again...

Room Tip: Beware of a lip on the floor going into the bathroom it can hurt if stood on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusaBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We spent three nights at the Celestion and found it a great place to explore Auckland. They put a folding bed in the lounge to turn a four bed room into one big enough for my family of five. The folding bed was very comfortable as I ended up sleeping in it. The reception staff were all friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank esond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,712 reviews
0.3 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
884 reviews
0.6 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,971 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
175 reviews
0.8 km away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $147 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing