We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
31
61
71
21
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
61
71
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surrey pub auckland zoo eden park family room small hotel deficiencies cafes
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2016

this is an old hotel, that could do with some updating. The manager (Preveet??) was really nice & helpful. Have to park the car a distance from the upstairs room, but pretty good place to stay. Would get a downstairs room next time

Room tip: maybe a downstairs room.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

My son and I stayed at The Surrey on the advice of a friend initally the motel we were given has no kitchen and were able swap to another unit. One minor criticism was the book about The Surrey lacked information about what's available nearby and the hotel's menu wasn't included.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The place is massive and spreads out over several buildings. The checkin was easy and the guy at the desk went out of his way to help me with directions. They have an in-house eatery, pool and gym (none of which I used) for those who like to have a close-at-hand option. Pretty centrally placed the only negative was just that it probably needs a bit of a reno here and there.

Room tip: If you want somewhere quiet I'd let them know ahead of time, but there's many rooms that would fit this bill.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simonteeeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We stayed our last night in this hotel but would not come here again.
Positives: The staff were helpful, the room was spacious, the shower was good, indoor pool, walking distance from Ponsonby Road and other shops/restaurants.
Negatives: If you like a good nights sleep this is not the place for you. The curtains did not block any light and there was a bright light outside our window. The windows did not seal properly so it was cold and the traffic noise came straight in through the windows. Expensive for a very ordinary hotel that needs updating.

Room tip: Rooms at the back away from the road might be quieter and darker. We were near the road - very noisy and too light.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank birretina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Booked what was called a Luxury Suite they have no idea what that means, except for two king size beds nothing else was luxury. Only two pillows, two towels carpet not clean. Went back and complained, staff good giving us another option. Went to a one bedroom unit rather nice although you only had to accidentally move the bed to see all the rubbish under it. Not able to try restaurant as a fire alarm went off. The hotel is old and tired.

Room tip: Don't book a luxury suite here, go for the one bedroom units that are at the back of the hotel thus quieter.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blackwatch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews