We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,077)
Filter reviews
1,077 results
Traveller rating
255
530
201
55
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
530
201
55
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen street great location valet parking airport bus stops right sky tower aotea centre sky bus civic theatre central location separate bedroom sitting area small kitchenette new zealand single bed hotel restaurant would stay again free wifi
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 1,077 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2017

A hotel (actually it is called 'Scenic Hotels'), that made me wonder about the locations of other 'Scenic' hotels...
A funny hotel: the shower space is so narrow, it's difficult for the 6' tall guy. But then the shower is also mostly cold...you have to wait for a while for the hot water.
When they advertise a Queen's size bed, it is an European interpretation: two single beds put together.
There is a club right across the street, which closes at 430am on a weeknight...it's great if you are the party type, but the constant noise and music (and no double-glazed windows) can drive you mad.
Still the biggest question: Where is the scene?

Room tip: don't know if there's a room not facing the main street
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank toutousmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We stayed here for one night in a studio and had a good stay. Our room was small and we did not have a view, but we did have a very comfortable bed and the room was quiet. The hotel did feel like it could benefit from an update, especially in the lobby. It also had valet parking, which was very helpful, even if the parking was a bit expensive. The hotel did have a great location as it was within an easy walking distance of the Sky Tower and Auckland Art Gallery. I probably wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay, but it did work well for a short stay.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Lovely place to stay as a base. We were here a couple of nights and arrived late evening on the first one. Night manager very helpful. Reasonable prices for location. Very handy for city centre. Fair few places to eat around the hotel and a brilliant view of the Auckland sky tower.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Arrived a little after midnight so the front doors were closed (didn't realise at first they were the front doors) there is a bell to get attention of front desk. The rooms have a kitchenette which is really useful. Microwave, toaster, fridge and sink. All required kitchen utensils and products provided. Perfect location. We walked upto Mt Eden in the morning, well worth the small hike. Then the sky tower in the afternoon. It rained on our first morning but since the sun came out it was glorious. Only downside I can find is the stretch noise not traffic, but emptying of presumably retail unit bins around 4:30am every morning.
We tried the Indian across the street on out last night, highly recommended. More of a cafe, but the food was lovely.
The harbour is a lovely area to wander and sit around.
The ice cream and cookie sandwich by the harbour was amazing

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MrsDoc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

If you are uncomfortable in an overcrowded, noisy, cosmopolitan city then this may not be the place for you. To be fair to the hotel though our accomodation was booked by a broker not by us and hindsight is a wonderful thing. Our studio apartment was on the 7th floor overlooking Queen Street. There was very limited space to place travel bags so the 2 seats for the small table became bag stands. The 2 lounge chairs had become quite worn and uncomfortable. We had a Queen bed and the gap between the bed & wall was only 200mm which in my opinion is bordering on unsafe. Television reception on all channels was extremely poor so fortunately the complementary internet wifi was first class for streaming entertainment as an alternative. A tip for rooms facing Queen Street is to draw the blinds during the day if you are going out as the room can become quite warm from the sun beaming in. Windows do open for those people who enjoy fresh air but on the negative side it also lets in the city noise. Only valet parking is available at $30NZ/24hr. Staff are courteous and helpful. Restaurant meals were excellent and morning breakfast buffet was let down by staff being overrun by groups of tourists flocking in off the street to consume most of the buffet food on display while hotel clientele who had ordered pre-cooked food looked on in sheer horror. Hotel staff could not obviously handle situations like this and an apology from the checkout counter in no way could compensate for the chaos and noise generated by situations like this, that shattered the ambience and quality of the restaurant. Unfortunately the Scenic Hotel won't be on our list of top 10 places to stay in NZ.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews