We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avearge”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #252 of 2,427 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Crab Shack is a coastal themed casual dining and drinking experience. Whilst we cater for all tastes, we specialize in seafood with a special emphasis on crab yet including other fabulous meals. "By the Scoop", "From the Earth" "From the Charcoal Barrel" are all included on our menu. The Crab Shack provides fun, smiles and frivolity in a casual yet entertaining waterfront environment. Affordable is an understatement, check out our daily deals today!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived for a late business lunch at 2pm and were unimpressed when we where told oysters weren’t available until 3pm. What sort of service is this?
We happily found a restaurant nearby happy to provide the service we expected without time commitments.

Thank Alipa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crabshackakl, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey Alipa50,

Our Freshly shucked oysters run from 3pm until 6pm everyday (while stocks last). While we can occasionally provide them earlier, It depends on how busy the kitchen staff are at the time. They bring on an extra chef to shuck the oysters from 3pm as they are highly popular at only $2 each. All of our signage clearly states from 3pm until 6pm for this reason. I hope you can understand and come see us again soon...

regards,

The CS team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to this place when we are looking for a place to have some beer. So we did order corn chips, spicy chicken wings, and a jug of beer. The place is good with enough heating especially during this winter. Good place where you can drink and still enjoy conversations. Good ambiance as well. Will try the mains next time.

1  Thank Jetryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crabshackakl, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey Jetryx,

So glad you loved the atmosphere!!! Come check out our live music every Friday, Saturday (4-7pm) and Sunday (3-6pm)!!!

regards,

The CS team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were given the best service. We are a rather large family of 2 adults and 5 children. we dine out often and sometimes a family of our size is hard to cater for without booking, but it was a late lunch so we took a punt, and thankfully we were greeted pleasantly and the service was EXCELLENT! Our kids absolutely loved the kids meals (which were nice and generous), and our teenage daughter loved her Big Aucklander fish burger. Next time I am grabbing the crab legs... lovely that kids eat free Sunday too - bonus! thank you for adding to an already fab day out!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rahhamwot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crabshackakl, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey rahhamwot,

So glad you loved our Kids Eat Free Sunday!!! Come and check us out on the 15th July for our Mid Winter Christmas!!!

Warm regards,

The CS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just went here for lunch and had Mussel and Clam fritters not very interesting at all, mostly flour lots of uncooked red onion not alot of seafood, my Plastic drinking glass was dirty not impressed and would not send anyone here or go again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lizzy007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crabshackakl, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear lizzy007_11,

I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. I hope you find it in your heart to come and give us a second chance one day...

Warmest regards,

The CS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The waiters should be trained on how to actually talk to customers and be Nice.
The Waitress we had was talking to us like we are stupid for asking about stuff on the menu.
And she was complaining that she is working on a Sunday night, well am sure she was informed about it before she was hired.
I travel a lot and never seen someone talking with customers like that specially that its not a cheap dining place.

We thought its a good restaurant because its always busy but we are never going back again.

Thank Mayoya88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crabshackakl, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Mayoya88,

I am very sorry that you had this experience with us. Thank you for bringing this incident to light. We have since taken action to make sure that this doesn't happen again. I hope you can try us out again some day...

warm regards,

Crab Shack Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing