We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

Second time around we enjoyed this great location and accommodation. Only disappointment was that management changed the rate we had agreed when making the booking - in their favour of course! - with no explanation. Duty manager no informed either.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank fiddledd15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear fiddledd15,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the way your booking was handled with regards to the rate. I have discussed this with my team and be rest assured we are correcting our systems so this does not happen again.

We trust you will return to Portside Hotel, and I invite you to email me directly when you wish to book again.

Kind regards,
Stephan Rudich
Resident Manager
gm@portsidehbc.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017

Easy check in with friendly front office staff. We had a two bedroom room with not too spectacular car park view!! Just one smallish TV in living area, which did not have the greatest sound, nor the full range of Sky Channels, which was frustrating given we wanted to watch the tennis on ESPN. The shower was a little on the cosy side, but otherwise the room was well equipped, though it pays to check if you want a bath, as not all rooms have them. Decor of the room was a little bland, though perfectly adequate for our stay. Good, but busy car parking and well located for other restaurants and access to the town. We were lucky to be on a discount rate, but would not have wished to pay a lot more. Checkout, easy and friendly.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Rjbrownmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Rjbrownmalta,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor,

We would love to welcome you again, and make suggestions with regards to the most adequate room for your needs, to include a bath, and views of the river.

Although we do have ample car-parking available, unfortunately we have very little spare parking when our hotel is fully booked, which was the situation you experienced during your last stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

I have stayed here many times and the portside team always look after you, this trip was to pick up a new motor bike and they arranged for a secure garage to put the new wheels in over night. Excellent work and don't stop been amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wilsonnm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear wilsonnm17,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

Our Guest's well being and security is paramount to us, and it was with pleasure that we were able to provide a safe area for your new wheels.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

I've stayed at Portside countless times and continue to return as a reliable, guaranteed great stay. The staff are always warm and welcoming and remember me from previous stays, the rooms are comfortable and well equipped and the location is ideal to town and the waterfront. I highly recommend Portside for both business travellers and families.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Katrina M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your positive feedback and we are delighted that you enjoy coming back to Portside Hotel Gisborne.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

This hotel is well-situated within easy walking distance of the centre of Gisborne. Although the hotel does not have its own restaurant there are plenty of good restaurants close by and this is not therefore a major problem. For those wishing, as I did, to explore north up the East Cape of New Zealand Gisborne makes a good base.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear Colin M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and the selection of restaurants close by.

Indeed, Gisborne, and in particular Portside Hotel, is the perfect base to explore the region.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.4 km away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#13 of 26 in Gisborne
281 reviews
0 km away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
74 reviews
0.2 km away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 26 in Gisborne
173 reviews
3.1 km away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 26 in Gisborne
200 reviews
0.7 km away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Gisborne
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection

Address: 2 Reads Quay, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gisborne
#5 Business Hotel in Gisborne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gisborne
Price Range: $144 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Hotel Gisborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing