We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean”
Review of Bay Beauty Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Beauty Motel
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Reviewed 13 June 2017

I stayed here under another persons recommendation because I was traveling to Napier with my dog. I arrived late at night and was disappointed from the moment I entered the room. The motel is a block of old joined state flats with concrete walls between each room. It was cold and there was only a single oil heater and no electric blankets. The blanket on the bed smelled like dog, the room had not been vacuumed in who-knows how long, the bathroom was growing mold in every corner and most walls, there was something splattered on the bathroom wall that resembled blood. The shower water pressure was non-existent and the tv had regular tv channels, no sky at all. The curtains in the ranch slider were a bunch of recycled curtains that didn't quite cover the space leaving gaps between each curtain. We had asked for two beds and one had a single pillow no thicker than a phone book.
Upon waking we couldn't get over the fact that simple cleaning had not been done so called around and found a much cleaner motel to stay at. We told the cleaner (who came only to give us fresh towels, not to clean, before we had even left the room for the day) that we were leaving and why, and she spoke to the Manager. He told her not to charge us seen as we were not happy. I tried to pay anyway but she insisted so we left. I almost didn't put this review up but I don't want others booking the motel without first knowing what they are booking. Photos will be attached.

Room Tip: There are much cleaner places to stay for the same or less $$ that still allow pets in Napier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faw1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017

Great place to stay and very affordable!! One room unit slept 4 of us, 3 kids (4,6, & 8) and myself. A queen bed and one single bed to start off with but the owner was more than happy to set up another single bed in the room for us. Had all that we needed for our stay of 2 nights. The place was clean on arrival and was serviced for the second night. Close to the local takeaway shops and cafes.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank john_manoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

First and foremost "Was blown away" by the humble attitude of the Owner. They are more than welcoming and accommodated to all our requests with a smile. Place was much more clean and has facilities than our expectations. I would say it would be the one of the most affordable yet great Motel in Napier..

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GouravNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Basic facilities but good value for money, beds aren't great if you do have a sore back or something but they were fine for us. Full kitchen and bathroom, very clean, quiet, service was very friendly and helpful- happy to provide information on local sites and activities. Wifi was fantastic! Would definitely visit again :)

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eatout7005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Yes it's old school BUT it's clean, quiet, comfortable & warm so it was just what I wanted after long days at work.
Management are super friendly & nothing is too big or small to be sorted asap.
I will definetly be back

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank 799haydenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
3.1 km away
Albatross Motel
Albatross Motel
#12 of 46 in Napier
589 reviews
2.9 km away
Cedar Court Motel
Cedar Court Motel
#28 of 46 in Napier
136 reviews
2.4 km away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#20 of 46 in Napier
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Spanish Lady Motel
Spanish Lady Motel
#30 of 46 in Napier
94 reviews
0.6 km away
Palm City Motor Inn
Palm City Motor Inn
#10 of 46 in Napier
228 reviews
1.3 km away
Deco City Motor Lodge
Deco City Motor Lodge
#15 of 46 in Napier
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beauty Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beauty Motel

Address: 1 Storkey Street | Marewa, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Price Range: S$104 - S$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beauty Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Beauty Motel is close to everything (2k from city) and very peaceful. Wake up to bird songs, not traffic noises! We are situated in the central "Art Deco" suburb of Marewa, near Napier's lovely rose gardens and Marewa shops. Our smoke-free units are comfortable and spacious, with full kitchens, en-suite bathrooms and private courtyards. All studios have splittable super-king beds, as well as single bed/s. We also have roomy family units. Parking is directly outside your ground-floor unit. Enjoy our warm spa, shady children's playground and barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Bay Beauty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing