We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveller rating
749
329
47
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
329
47
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decoirish pubemporium restaurantroyal suiteloading zoneroof terracebeautiful hotelpacific viewshared balconymarine paradebuffet breakfaststep back in timeacross the roadfirst floorcentral locationsea frontnew zealand
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018

I really enjoyed the ambience of this Art Deco styled hotel. It is situated across the road from the beachfront, and is in the heart of the city. It has a very welcoming quiet homely feel to it, which suits me fine. I would recommend it to all my friends as the place to stay in Napier.

Room Tip: Would love to have seen more channel choice on the TV.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PamelaG212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napierhotels, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Pamela
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent visit to Napier. Your word of mouth recommendation to friends is much appreciated and we hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Kind Regards Craig and the team at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, Napier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We were in Hawkes Bay for a family event and booked three rooms. Each of us had a slightly different room but had the continental breakfast as part of our package. Through a combination of Fawlty Tower like events the staff upgraded the room and breakfast for one of our party, which was very much appreciated. The Hotel while old has been upgraded and is a very pleasant place to stay and close to the shops and restaurants with the water just across the road where a very pleasant walk can be taken.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napierhotels, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Tony
Thank you for choosing Art Deco Masonic Hotel for your recent family event. I'm pleased you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your beach walks. As you found we have a great location for exploring the CBD and accessing shops and restaurants.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Our 2 day stay was awesome! We came to Napier looking for renovation inspiration for a 1920's apartment that we have recently commenced. Had to look no further than the Art Deco Masonic Hotel. Great attention to detail in maintaining the Art Deco feel whilst providing modern amenities. On top of that Staff were great, made us feel really welcomed from the time we walked into the building through to when we checked out. Definitely the place to stay in Napier if you want the full Art Deco experience.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank phildally57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napierhotels, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear phildally
Thank you for your kind review. Your comments about being made to feel welcome by our friendly team of staff are much appreciated.
I'm pleased you have been inspired for your new renovation project and hope you manage to take a break from your work and visit us again.
Kind Regards Craig and the team at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, Napier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

This hotel is full of character, so if you like old buildings, and of course Art Deco then you’ll love this place. You can drive right into the laneway in front of the hotel to unload and check-in, then it’s just a lap around the block to get to the car parking which is within easy walking distance. We didn’t use the car for the rest of our stay as everything we wanted to see was close by. We had a room upstairs with doors onto the terrace - a bonus because this is where the sea views are, the Emporium downstairs, while right across the road from the beach is too low set. Plan to have a bottle of wine at the ready to watch the sun go down. Our room was stylishly decorated with a modern bathroom and comfortable bed, couch and arm chair. The breakfast buffet was limited, but the menu items were very generously portioned. Overall, an ideal place to stay to really experience the unique history of Napier.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 36views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napierhotels, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear 36views
Thank you for your review. We were pleased you enjoyed your experience we us and that you made good use of the hotel's facilities. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Kind Regards Craig and the team at Art Deco Masonic Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

A lovely hotel in a lovely town. The hotel is very 1930's. All staff were excellent and so was the food. the psition right on the seafront is very good. Also the Irish pub connected to the hotel is well worth a visit.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napierhotels, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Tony J
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your Winter visit to Napier. You kind comments about the hotel, staff and food are much appreciated.
Kind Regards Craig and the team at Art Deco Masonic Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews