We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy spot, good value, pity about the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napier Garden Motel
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Hard to fault really, everything is self contained and super friendly
staff, and we had a good choice of nearby places to eat. But the walls
did not keep back our noisy neighbours with young kids, Apart from
that excellent and good value

Room Tip: Choose an end Unit of you can, less chance of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CelticConnexionsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Napier Garden Motel for one night. The motel is in a very convenient location being within easy walking distance of the city centre and the water front. There is plenty of free car parking space available. There is a children's play area and a swimming pool. There was a very large feijoa tree full of fruit at the time of our visit. Our room was rather small but excellent value for money. It was spotlessly clean and came fully equipped including free WIFI and Sky TV. Our room also had a table and chairs immediately outside which was a very welcome place for a quiet glass of wine. We received a very polite and professional welcome and we would definitely stay again when next in Napier.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

A traditional and spacious motel with friendly staff and nice gardens.
Ideal for our party visiting the Art Deco weekend in pre war cars.
Plenty of parking and a barbecue in the garden which we were unable to use because of the weather which was no fault of the Motel!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Location is a little further out and a couple of streets back from the marine parade and beach compared to alternatives, but in good weather this is no problem and the walk is nice along the shore.

Room was spacious with nice bathroom, quiet outdoor small seating area, seemingly new furniture with some effort put into decoration.

Generous wifi allowance always appreciated.

Pool looked generally as in photo but didn't pass the test for cleanliness when inspected so was avoided.

Helpful manager.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank aceadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Great to see an old motel kept alive and well. Nice and clean inside and out. Old and dated for sure, but refurbished and maintained quite well over the years, which is nice to see. Updated appliances, curtains and shower / plumbing make this quite functional and modern. Nice touches inside too. Grassed areas for the kids to play on and a pool too. Good parking and away from the road noise, yet 10 minute walk to the beach. Daily paper delivered too. Friendly and polite host on arrival which was nice. Overall for a high end of the budget motel range (maybe even a mid range to be fair) this is a good, honest and fair motel that ticks most of the boxes at this price range. Great to see an older place kept well and clean and tidy for travellers to stay in. Well done. Good for kids too and not too far in to town from here, car may be needed.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BossandMrsBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 km away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#9 of 46 in Napier
560 reviews
1.5 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
927 reviews
0.4 km away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The County Hotel Napier
0.7 km away
Beach Front Motel Napier
1.8 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napier Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napier Garden Motel

Address: 177 Wellesley Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
Price Range: $108 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Napier Garden Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Napier Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclean Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing