We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bluewater Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ace High Motor Inn(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pania Lodge Motels Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)
US$138
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Marineland Motels(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballina Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nautilus(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
38
46
33
32
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
46
33
32
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgin trapmarina viewbathroom mirrorwedding venuebars and restaurantssuper comfortable bedmaster bedroomtop floorsmall balconyclose to the airportfirst floorwest quayeasy parkingcomfortable staycentral napierhawkes baywould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Room 12.
Plus points for clean linen and towels.
However, the hotel ground floor rooms need a total re-vamp. Very tired and smelly, with some pillows also smelly. The shower over the spa bath is very awkward to get in and out of, and as there is no shower curtain its easy for water to get on the floor and to slip. My wife did in fact slip and had to go to a medical centre for treatment for a bad gash on her knee (also needing 4 follow ups).

Judging by some of the hotel patrons in nearby rooms uttering profanities at all times of the day and night I wonder if Blue Water may be using spare rooms to accommodate homeless from Winz. Management should be able to confirm if this is correct or not. These characters certainly did not look like the normal travellers we see on our motel visits and their cars were bruised, battered models heaped full of trash.
All in all a bad experience never to be repeated, and we will head back to Napier motels for our next visit

Room Tip: Certainly avoid ground floor rooms unless others have been upgraded. Suggest talk with management.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank samarkand60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking your time to fill in our on line survey. I would like to sincerely apologise for failing to exceed your expectations. We have an ongoing refurbishment to up date the rooms - new beds for example, but we have been so busy since November 2016, the work came to a stand still. Hoping to carry on next month. So sorry regarding your wife's mishap, really wish you had informed us at the time, to see if we could have been of help. We are not accommodating the WINZ homeless. The car's in the car park belong to workers across the road, this has been an on going problem as they park early morning before reception opens, but we have now found the culprits, and hopefully have sorted this issue.
I hope next time you are in Napier you will give us another chance
Kind Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Night number 3 of our road trip good clean rooms,heaps or room ,had a 3 bedroom unit, Watch the tiles outside the door very slippery when wet.Handy to bars and restaurants,good veiws out over the marina.Would stay again.rated number 2 on the road trip.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hootie120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking your time to complete the Bluewater Hotel on line survey
We very much appreciate all info you give and value your positive feedback. This will be shared with all the team at Bluewater, and will be encouragement for tall the staff to continuously improve all the services we provide our guests.
Good to hear you would stay again, and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Napier

Kind Regards
All the team at Bluewater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I had a 2 bedroom unit and it was fantastic, plenty of room, not like a normal motel. Upstairs it had a master with king bed, bedroom 2 had 2 single beds, a separate toilet, separate bathroom, shower over bath
Downstairs there was a large kitchen, with microwave and the basics. Lovely comfortable leather lounge suit, good sized tv
Master bedroom had a tv, beautiful soft sheets and a super comfortable bed, great view out to the marina
Nice view from the lounge out to the marina, with a small balcony to relax on,

The only slightly negative thing would be the shower, not great water pressure, and no curtain, so was slightly cold while showering.
I will be back though, certainly the type of place you could be happy to stay for more than 1 night.
Restaurant does room service which was good

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank danjonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking your valuable time to write such a lovely survey of Bluewater Hotel. We value all your feedback and comments, and we can assure you the information you have given us, I will put forward to the owner in our weekly meeting regarding the bath
All information helps us to make a better experience for all our future guests
Good to hear we will see you again
Kind Regards
from all the team at Bluewater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Stayed at the Blue Water for two nights for a wedding to be held at the venue. The rooms were comfortable clean and had a great view of the marina. The conference centre ended up being the wedding venue after inclement weather caused a change in location. The food was superb and the staff were most amazing.
The West Quay location is great and handy to the marina and numerous bars and restaurants. The rooms are big and most functional suitable for either business or pleasure travel. If staying in Napier give this place a call . I would stay there again

Room Tip: Try a second level room if having a conference. The view from the conference room is fabulous
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 109malcolmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this online suvery.

On behalf of the team I would like to thank you for your great review - It is always a pleasure recieving positive feedback and it gives the team here a great positive out look, We hope to see you again soon thank you for staying with us

Sincerely -
The team,
Blue Water Hotel - Napier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

As much as I would like to write a positive review my experience staying at the Bluewater was far from nice. The room was basic but clean and comfortable for someone working long hours however the receptionist needs some serious customer service training. She was not at all helpful (in fact quite rude) and would roll her eyes if you asked for more than one thing at a time. I felt more like a burden than a PAYING customer. I don't expect to be waited on hand and foot but I do expect a professional level of service which unfortunately was lacking at the Bluewater. A warm smile and helpful manner will do you wonders.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2017_Maxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear Maxwell,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this online survey,

On behalf of the team I would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experience here at the Blue Water Hotel - We take pride in our customer service and I am very disheartened to hear of this, I will be taking on your full feedback and using this to improve in this aspect, Once again I am very sorry on behalf of the team.

We hope to see you again so we can provide you with an exceptional experience

Sincerely
The team,
Blue Water Hotel - Napier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews