We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely comfortable Stay”
Review of Bluewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluewater Hotel
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Comfortable, clean, ideal for couples and Spa bath was an added extra.
Stocked mini bar came in handy also :)
Lady at reception on check in was super nice and helpful plus we didn't need to be out early AM which allowed us to enjoy our stay a little more.
Great location, close so some amazing bars and restaurants/cafes.
We will definitely return

Room Tip: Upper levels have good views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeniwren89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you Jeniwren89 for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. Here at the Bluewater we pride ourselves on the cleanliness and service we provide to all of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again next time.

Kind regards,
The team at The Bluewater Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Have stayed here twice this month and am not impressed with the quality of the hotel. The bathroom has obviously been updated but it looks like it has been done on the cheap. The grouting in the tiles on the floor is dirty and the tiles surrounding the spa bath are very dated. Both stays we were woken by noise from downstairs. Last night there was a fight in the car Park which resulted in the police being called. Also the fish shop / factory next door produces a strong fish odour. I would not call this a luxury hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank deborahn32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hi, Thank you for completing the Bluewater online survey, regarding your recent stays at the Bluewater. I apologize for failing to reach your expectations, and as the manager of Bluewater and the staff will be disappointed, as we want all our guests to have a great experience when staying at Bluewater.
The bathrooms have not been updated as yet, we are in the process of up dating the rooms in stages (new beds, linen, appliances some painting so far) as you can understand this is a long and on going process.
The fight in the car park was passers by, and our onsite managers called the police and went out side to calm the situation till the police arrived. Please note we do now have camera security in the car park and front of building. Our guests safety is very important to us.
Hope you will give us another chance next time you are in Napier
Kind Regards
All the team at Bluewater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Easy parking, comfortable bed and clean and tidy room. Kitchenette stocked with everything you need and great selection of TV channels. The reception is very helpful and welcoming. Easy drive or taxi to the central Napier dining district or a walk to the Marina restaurants.

Only thing that stopped it from being a 5 was the noise, the Bar gets quiet noisy at night and we had some issues with Patrons that had been at the bar late making noise/swearing near our room as they left. Just something to keep in mind.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. All comments are very important to us. It goes towards us making a better experience for all our guests. I apologise the bar and other guests were noisy and spoilt your stay at Bluewater Hotel, but thank you for informing us, so we can let the bar know to try and keep the sound down.
I hope you will still keep us in mind next time you are in the Bay
Kind Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Room 12.
Plus points for clean linen and towels.
However, the hotel ground floor rooms need a total re-vamp. Very tired and smelly, with some pillows also smelly. The shower over the spa bath is very awkward to get in and out of, and as there is no shower curtain its easy for water to get on the floor and to slip. My wife did in fact slip and had to go to a medical centre for treatment for a bad gash on her knee (also needing 4 follow ups).

Judging by some of the hotel patrons in nearby rooms uttering profanities at all times of the day and night I wonder if Blue Water may be using spare rooms to accommodate homeless from Winz. Management should be able to confirm if this is correct or not. These characters certainly did not look like the normal travellers we see on our motel visits and their cars were bruised, battered models heaped full of trash.
All in all a bad experience never to be repeated, and we will head back to Napier motels for our next visit

Room Tip: Certainly avoid ground floor rooms unless others have been upgraded. Suggest talk with management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank samarkand60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking your time to fill in our on line survey. I would like to sincerely apologise for failing to exceed your expectations. We have an ongoing refurbishment to up date the rooms - new beds for example, but we have been so busy since November 2016, the work came to a stand still. Hoping to carry on next month. So sorry regarding your wife's mishap, really wish you had informed us at the time, to see if we could have been of help. We are not accommodating the WINZ homeless. The car's in the car park belong to workers across the road, this has been an on going problem as they park early morning before reception opens, but we have now found the culprits, and hopefully have sorted this issue.
I hope next time you are in Napier you will give us another chance
Kind Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Night number 3 of our road trip good clean rooms,heaps or room ,had a 3 bedroom unit, Watch the tiles outside the door very slippery when wet.Handy to bars and restaurants,good veiws out over the marina.Would stay again.rated number 2 on the road trip.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hootie120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking your time to complete the Bluewater Hotel on line survey
We very much appreciate all info you give and value your positive feedback. This will be shared with all the team at Bluewater, and will be encouragement for tall the staff to continuously improve all the services we provide our guests.
Good to hear you would stay again, and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Napier

Kind Regards
All the team at Bluewater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.9 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.9 km away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#18 of 46 in Napier
74 reviews
2.7 km away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 46 in Napier
96 reviews
0.5 km away
Marineland Motels
Marineland Motels
#26 of 46 in Napier
153 reviews
2.6 km away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Address: 10 West Quay, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Price Range: $136 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a luxury hotel situated in the popular, exciting inner harbour area, the Bluewater Hotel provides a first-class stay in Napier with dazzling views of the marina,located in the rejuvenated Ahuriri quarter, is the perfect place to stay in Hawke’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing