We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
92
108
37
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
108
37
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool marine parade great location across the road spa unit upstairs unit off street parking stayed here for nights good size within walking distance town centre free wifi the ground floor sea view small room comfortable bed excellent motel
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

This is an honest old fashioned sort of place in a great location. It's not flash, but it's everything it needs to be. The hosts are very helpful and accomodating. It's an older style place, but my bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet considering it's on the main street. If you open the front and back door there is a great breeze. Yes the parking is tight, but if you're nervous you could park on the street close by. There's something about these older style properties that's just a little more relaxing than more modern properties. Maybe it's because it's not fussy. Maybe it's a reminder of holidays past. Regardless I very much enjoyed my time here.

Room Tip: Downstairs seemed good
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrettLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Hello BrettLT. This is the most unusual and best review we have had in the 11 years we have been here. It is exactly what we are trying to achieve. We have been up grading the beds. We are not flash and we have a great location. There is a great sea breeze and you just have to work it. There are parking options in or around the building all free. And we are definitely not fussy. We will take any one. Premo Brett.
Regards
Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

My wife and family stayed at Edgewater Napier in December 2017 for my Dads 80th. My wife and myselfs room was very good and spacious with a spa bath on the ground floor. Location is just across the road from the beach and within walking distance from town and attractions. A nice place to stay. Staff very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nosurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Hello Nosurf.
Thank you for taken the time to review us. Your comments are very much appreciated.
Regards Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel is exactly what it advertises. It’s cheap and affordable, and centrally located. Decent sized rooms.

The parking is shocking - don’t park there. Too small and tight, and high risk of damaging your car. Our room also smelt of burnt toast and urine - which we had to go out and purchase an air freshener to try and remedy it overnight.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Hello Clint B. Thank you for the review. We know the parking is tight but we have yet to find someone that can come up with a solution. We have about 13,000 visitors a year most of them come in cars. Little cars, big cars and trucks all needing parks. We try our best to manage the parks and the very, very, few that get damaged are caused by the driver of that car. Another words they hit a building support. Only one thing moving, and it is not the building. With regards to the smell in your unit. We have a very short time to turn a unit around in this busy season and we only need a previous guest to burn toast or have an accident to render it an impossible task. We would have been better of to cancel your booking and to say sorry, the room is not available. Where would that have left you.
Why did you not come to the office and voice your concerns. An immediate refund would have been given and WE could have dealt with the problem. Regards Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Room was clean and nice enough with everything you need. Second floor room with sliding door onto balcony that had sea view but noisy traffic. Room was really hot! The day was around 25C. Even with the small fan provided and balcony door open the heat wouldnt dissipate. At sleep time had to close balcony doors due to traffic noise with the room still really hot! Would have rated the place a "3" but when I mentioned the unbearable heat to the guy at reception on checkout, he became somewhat argumentative.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trishy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Hello Trishy. Thank you for taken the time to review us and for your comments. I am sorry for asking you if you had bolted the door back and opened the back windows. I enclose a review we received from the guest who stayed in the same unit the following night with the temp 4 degrees warmer.

Edgewater Motor Lodge,


An excellent facility, and so squeaky clean! Thank you for having a fan in the unit, though the sea breeze was enough. Lovely stay, we'll return.

Isn't it strange how opinions can differ.
Regards Roy



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

A very clean motel close to city centre with nice balcony view to sea.
Pleasant greeting with offer to help if required.
Tidy and cleaned well on our two day stay.
Can recommend
Small pool available , we had spa unit.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hello Chris R. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We have very good cleaning staff who go above and beyond to get the job done. Cheers Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews