We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour of Hawke's Bay's best vineyards & Te Mata peak”

Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For the adventurous traveller who prefers touring in small groups, a Prinsy's Tour is a fun and flexible way to experience the very best of Hawke's Bay. We offer set driving itineraries or we can personalise your tour to include the sights and activities you particularly want to see or do. Whether it's an education on our wines, a day's fishing on our finest trout rivers, or an intriguing insight into rural New Zealand, we combine intimate local knowledge with genuine hospitality to ensure you have a memorable time. We are a family owned business offering: - Wine tours (Exclusive, Full or 1/2 day) - Exclusive food, wine & sightseeing tours - Cruise ship shore excursions - Guided transfers - Rural Experience or Fishing tours We pride ourselves on excellence & personal service, so much so that we won the HB Tourism Visitor Experience Award 2017. We are the only wine tour business to include a trip up Te Mata Peak on all tours (weather permitting). Tour with us & see for yourself.
Reviewed 29 June 2018

We booked a full day tour of Hawke's Bay's vineyards and were very lucky to be the only two people on the bus on a stunning winter's day. Our guide, Kerry, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and the wineries and showed us a great selection of boutique and larger vineyards (along with a tour of the area's other attractions!).

The wine samples were generous and we felt the tour was excellent value for money. We also had a great lunch at Church Road.

Having always suffered with allergies from wine, we were fortunate to be taken to Moana Park vineyard who make their wine free of nasty additives. Finally I can enjoy a glass of wine without the usual stuffy nose!

The trip to te mata peak was the perfect ending to the trip, and something which we found to be unique to Prinsy's.

It was our first time to the Hawke's Bay region and we will definitely return in the summer!

Thank darbydoo1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you darbydoo for your review. Yes we are very fortunate in Hawkes Bay to have reasonably mild winters with many clear sunny days. Kerry has a wealth of knowledge & always loves sharing his stories with guests so, thank you for your compliments about our guide. It is great to hear you found some delicious wine that suits you, theres certainly an abundance here to taste :). We look forward to hosting you both again on your next visit. Regards Hamish & Di.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"te mata peak"
in 64 reviews
"full day tour"
in 19 reviews
"wine tour"
in 50 reviews
"moana park"
in 19 reviews
"hawkes bay"
in 36 reviews
"visited wineries"
in 14 reviews
"new zealand"
in 20 reviews
"craggy range"
in 10 reviews
"cheeseboard"
in 9 reviews
"wonderful wineries"
in 4 reviews
"small group of people"
in 3 reviews
"a great tour guide"
in 6 reviews
"church road"
in 13 reviews
"cheese platter"
in 11 reviews
"brilliant wine"
in 3 reviews
"mission estate"
in 12 reviews
"black barn"
in 9 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic afternoon tour of 4 wineries, Church, Trinity, Askerne, and Black Barn. All the tastings were superb! I developed a new taste for Chardonnay as they were not Oakey, but crisp and flavorful. At the Askerne Winery we had an awesome cheese platter by the vineyards and we sampled 13 different wines, including 2 amazing dessert wines that I had never tried before and absolutely loved! At the end of the tour, Kerry, our guide, took us to Te Mara Peak for a panoramic view of Hawke's Bay. That was beautiful! We had a really good time and enjoyed the tour very much.

1  Thank Marlin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you Marlin N for your fabulous compliments about our tour & our guide Kerry. We at Prinsy's Tours endeavour to ensure our customers learn something new whilst enjoying their day. Our team are a valuable asset to us so thank you for acknowledging that.
Thank you for choosing Prinsys & safe travels, Hamish & Di.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

We had A wonderful day with Ian on the Prinsy wine tour. Ian picked us up at 10:30 and instantly we loved him. He was full of great stories and very personable and had a lot of knowledge to lay down on us as we drove around. Our first stop was Moana winery where they make all natural wine and is vegetarian. We had the whole place to ourselves and Grace our wine tasting host was amazing. We’ve been to a lot of wineries in our eight weeks in New Zealand and I have to say this is one of my favorites and I finally broke down and bought a case to send home.

Next we went to Church Road for the most amazing platter and more great wine. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and the food amazing.

We picked up four kiwis on our way to Askerne. While the wine was meh Gideon the host was hilarious. Between Ian, our 4 new kiwi friends and Gideon’s shenanigans, my face hurt from laughing so much

We went on to Craigy Range which had breathtaking views and some tasty wine.

Last winery stop was Black Barn. Loved this cozy little spot where you can stay in cottages. The wine was delightful and the kitchen shop amazing.

Our last stop was on top of Te Mata peak for 360 degree views. Ian put together a yummy cheese plate for us and it was the perfect finish to a perfect day.

Call Ian today and book today.

Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you KellyB for touring with us at Prinsys Tours. It is great to read it was a totally memorable day for you all. We are so spoilt for choice for food & wine in HB. Glad you all enjoyed our tour stops, wines & all the personalities that helped give you a tour that exceeded your expectations. safe travels &best wishes Hamish & Di.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Had an awesome afternoon with a group of work colleagues on this tour. Ian was our driver and really made the trip special. Even being locals we learnt so much and had a thoroughly entertaining time. Thanks Prinsys wine tours!

Thank tonid749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you tonid749 for your compliments about our tour. It was great to hear you learnt a lot too. Yes Ian is one of our valuable guides, he is passionate about his work & our region, good to hear you enjoyed his guiding & our Prinsys wine tour. warm regards, Hamish & Di.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We had a fantastic tour with Hamish, sampled some delightful wines and saw some beautiful countryside. Exceedingly well run, some great information and Hamish was a funny and convivial host. Highly recommended.

Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for your awesome review & compliments. It was great to meet you & share some of our little slice of heaven:) Best wishes & safe travels, Hamish & Di

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing