We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manor on Parade
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)
US$125
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballina Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nautilus(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
60
6
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
6
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The most outstanding part of our stay was the attention to detail. The rooms and en suites were exceptionally clean and tidy. Despite the fact that Manor on Parade is on Marine Parade our room was very quiet. (Our room was at the back of the house, which may have made it quieter.) We had a balcony which would be very pleasant for summer time visits. The en suites are of a good size and the fittings are all modern and everything was very fresh. The decor was pleasant and the bed very comfortable. Fresh flowers made the entrance hall and dining room very pleasant and welcoming. We were very impressed with the breakfast; despite the fact that we stayed during mid winter there was a huge array of fresh fruit including cherries, pawpaw and pineapple as well as the usual muesli, plus pastries. We found the walk into the central part of town easy and pleasant and across the road is the concrete walk/running strip which goes along the foreshore for kilometers, well worth a stroll. Our hostess Judy was very helpful and approachable. We found no disadvantages to staying at Manor on Parade.

Room Tip: The room at the front has a view over the sea and a large sitting area, and is very spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My only stay in Napier so hard to compare the others. However we are very experienced travelers and Manor on Parade rates very, very high in our book. We were there in early May but had good weather. One advantage to Manor on Parade is that the rooms (at least the two we saw) are wonderful. The front room (#1), overlooking Hawkes Bay, is fabulously large and very well appointed. Furniture was all fresh and in good taste. A small kitchenette area for making tea and coffee. The back room (#2) is smaller, and has a charming balcony and is also tastefully furished. Another advantage is Judy, the hostess, who is an excellent source for information about Napier and where to find whatever you would like, and who is willing to engage with you about local attractions. Parking is excellent. There is a very inexpensive lot across the way, and one can park on the street in front for two or more hours (I can't recall exactly). Finally, this B and B is well located for signtseeing in Napier as it is only a short walk to the art deco center of town and to the i site, where free walkingtours of the town were on offer at least twice a day..Finally, breakfast is plentiful and very good; plenty of fresh fruit and cereal selections. Much better than the normal B and B fare.

All in all I rate this as one of he very best B and Bs I visited during a recent 4 week trip to New Zealand. And I visited six of them (as well as several hotel and lodges) while there!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PandLNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the room at the back of the house. Room and en suite were immaculate, with a very nice little veranda to sit out on and have a pre-dinner drink in the evening. Maybe not the best of views, but we were very happy with it.
Judy was very friendly and served a fabulous breakfast with an amazing array of fruit and pastries.
Great location within easy walking distance of town centre and large choice of restaurants. It's true that you can't park outside the property during the day, but that didn't present a problem. If you're planning to leave the car during restricted hours, it's a simple matter of using the car park opposite which doesn't cost much.
Napier is a lovely little town with unique architecture and character, even if you're not necessarily an Art Deco fan. Wine tasting tour around Hastings is a great way to spend an afternoon.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank spinaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Lovely Rooms and first class Breakfast. Good sized en-suite. We had the middle bedroom at the side of the house.Can hear the traffic 6-30 am onwards OK after 10-00pm. ( We are not use to road noise ) Parking outside is a problem, 2 hours during the day. I had a slight problem in our shower.I found it slippery, Judy give me a towel to put on the shower floor.Otherwise everything First Class. Not as homely as many B & B 's where you can spend time chatting in the evenings after returning from your evening meal.The only time we saw Judy was at Breakfast.
N.B. Parking problems in Napier, Meters everywhere. Not a beautiful Beach in front of B & B Very rough Pebbled Beach. Do not go to Cape Kidnapper from B & B, quite a drive to end of road. Then can not even see it at High Tide. Low Tide 4/5 hour walk . Better off going to Te Mata Peak. Havelock North. Nice place. Plus you can drive right to the Top, great views.
We ate both nights just 100 metres right from B & B. I think a Quality Inn which had a Restaurant, Cobb and Co. Nice and warm Good Value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Googe, Owner at Manor on Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for your recent email informing us of your safe return home and your enjoyment of your holiday in New Zealand.
While admiring your attempts to conserve water while showering, ultimately a certain amount of water is required to wash the soap away to prevent possible slipping.
We will pass on your comments to Hawkes Bay Tourism and they may consider relocating Cape Kidnappers closer to Napier City and possibly replacing the pebbles on the beach with sand!
Thank you for your kind feedback of our B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed only one night at Manor on Parade. The location was perfect, within walking distance to the city center and the sea. We were upgraded to the sea view room that was large with a wall of windows with a great view of the sea. The sunrise was amazing. Breakfast was very generous and we had so much variety to choose from. The room was quiet and private and was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieLWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews