We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T BOTHER”

Amazing Thai Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 62 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: US$6 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: This fabulous restaurant in the Bay of Islands has absolute bay views.We offer European breakfast, European and Thai lunches, and Thai dinners. We also cater for those who think they don't like Thai food, offering plainer options. Amazing Thai is fully licenced and can cater for large groups of up to 110 people. The food is very fresh and cooked to order by authentic Thai chefs. . We also have available a limited KIDS ONLY menu for those fussy eaters. Conferencing facilities are available within the restaurant
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Got here at about 6:50 pm Thursday 12th October and walked out after about 25 - 30 mins of waiting .... asked to wait for a table to be 'cleared' and given tow menus at seats where people wait for take out, whilst the two staff ran around doing take out orders,ignoring us and their patrons in the restaurant. Note, only 5 covers had patrons and half the restaurant partitioned off and so closed to customers. So there were 2 out of 5 tables free at the window, so as it being our wedding anniversary meal / breakaway, we asked to sit at the window to look at the romantic quayside view. Although there were only 5 tables being used the two members of staff took over 15 mins to clear a table and seat us at a cleared but un-made table! After a further wait of about 10 mins, just strumming our hands without any water / drinks etc and not being asked for your order, food or otherwise, or anything brought to us (like a bottle of water, new cutlery crockery glasses etc ) we thought best just walk out as this restaurant was obviously not bothered by our custom.
I would recommend that this establishment decide whether to just become a take out, as your two members of staff that night had absolutely NO customer service skills of how to run a restaurant. As an ex-waitress I found it blatantly abundantly clear that covers were left unturned, food left half eaten for customers to wait to be cleared, people requesting refills only to fall on 'deaf ears', and we saw no evidence of any front house 'service', plus few patrons that were actually present looked bemused and quite frankly annoyed! NEVER AGAIN this was like Fawlty Towers but with NO JOKES!

1  Thank kimmyevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAndTed, Owner at Amazing Thai Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear kimmyevo

I apologise for your experience. Sometimes things go wrong and it appears that that is what happened that night. Knowing the date helps to understand the underlying problem, which we had with a staff member that night. That person resigned at the end of the shift, so obviously was flustered about it through the evening. Usually this person is a really great waiter.

Thank you for your comments, which we take to heart. I hope you had a great evening for your wedding anniversary, despite our mistakes.

Kind regards
Jo, Ted and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Lovely ambience, lovely setting, excellent friendly obliging staff. Sadly the food was lacking in taste for a real authentic Thai experience.

Thank homedreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAndTed, Owner at Amazing Thai Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi homedreams

Thank you for your review. Your comment regarding the lack of authentic Thai flavour puzzles me, given the food is cooked by Thai chefs. I also note that this is the only restaurant you have ever reviewed, so there is no other Thai experiences to compare it to, which is a bit unfair. We understand that tastebuds are subjective, but the only reviews you have done are for Paihia (5) and 4 of those were for attractions.

We hope you had a great trip and hope you will try us again some time.

regards

Jo, Ted and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We were lucky to get a table by the front window overlooking the lovely Bay of Island water views. We didn't realise that we could have brought a BYO bottle of wine (corkage was $5.50/bottle), otherwise we would have. The beer we ordered was warm sadly, but the sparkling water was beautifully chilled. We shared a chicken satay starter and the sauce was tasty but the chicken was a little tough. Our mains were delicious, we chose a beef massaman curry and the cashew stir fry with the mixed seafood. The cashew stir fry was delicious with plenty of fresh vegies and seafood and the massaman curry also very tasty. We chose mild as we were warned that the chilli spiciness can get quite spicy, quite quickly. The next door table had one meal that they ordered medium and they struggled with the spiciness, so be warned. You can ask for a tiny dish to add a little more spice if you want a bit more kick to your order - but this is really hot so go easy with adding it, unless you want numb lips and tongue.... If you want a little breather between courses maybe suggest that when you order as the meals arrive very promptly and we felt a little rushed between courses. Casual, friendly service in a relaxing atmosphere made the evening very pleasant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChrisandDavid2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Menu good, does not offer BYO but will accept it if you ask or just turn up with your BYO. Food OK to good, service a bit lackadaisical. Prices quite good.

Thank cdscons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAndTed, Owner at Amazing Thai Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi cdscons

Thank you for your review. However a bit puzzled by your comment regarding BYO. We have always offered this option to our diners for wine only. Many of our guests bring their own wine choices to the restaurant.

Thank you for dining with us and we hope to see you again soon.

regards

Jo, Ted and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We received a warm friendly greeting.Had a nice table by the window overlooking the sea.Good choice of meals and plenty of gluten free options.Food was very tasty.Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amazing Thai Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Amazing Thai Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing