We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cook's Lookout Motel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2017

My partner and I chose to stay here following a recommendation from my mother, who had visited a few years previous. From the moment I booked, Shelagh and Norm were fantastic. I had initially booked two nights but following an e-mail from them with some very gentle persuasion I added a third night, and I am so glad we did. Nothing was too much trouble during our stay, and they also gave us some good tips and recommendations.
I had it on very good authority that the views there were beautiful, but you really can't appreciate it until you see it. To wake up in the morning, open the curtains and sit in bed with a cuppa with that view (yes, from the bed) was fabulous.
The accommodation was clean and tidy, and equipped with everything we needed.
The centre of Paihia is just a few minutes drive away and there is a shop and takeaway just a few minutes walk away. The takeaway was one of Norm's recommendations and we enjoyed the Hoki and chips so much we went back the second night! Being up at Cooks Lookout there is no noise except the sound of nature itself, and we relished in the peace and tranquility if offered. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gem-Keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

The hotel has a great view towards Waitangi, Paihia, and Russell with good access to Kerikeri. The proprietors could not have been nicer with their help and suggestions. I very much look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms farther up the hill have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnccoles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

This is the place to stay in Paihia if you want to enjoy the stunning scenery in a quiet, peaceful setting. The views are quite breathtaking. The location could not be any better situated. The small quaint town of Paihia is a 5 minute drive away from the motel, so you are never far from the waterfront, bars, restaurants and local amenities. But by staying at Cook's Lookout you are not immersed in the lively, noisy part of town.
Your hosts, Shelagh and Norm, are such lovely, generous people who will do everything they can to make your stay the best possible one. I could not have asked for better hosts. Their hospitality and knowledge of the area are excellent.
I would highly recommend this motel to anyone. It is smoke free, with a large swimming pool and kitchen facilities in each unit. This really is the only place to stay in Paihia. Book a room at Cook's Lookout and be prepared for the most impressive views of Paihia you will find.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaViolet7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

My partner and I woke up each morning with amazing views over the Bay of Islands right from our bed. It's only about a five minute drive to the main Paihia shops and is also very handy to the Waitangi grounds, and various local adventure activities. The beds are also very comfortable, we woke up feeling quite refreshed.

I initially had some reservations about travelling in August with rain on the forecast, however the showers soon cleared and we were able to enjoy our time in the "winterless north." We even managed to get some Kayaking in. We were actually feeling a little hot at various points, so do come in the off season, it is thoroughly worth it.

We had a lovely time and are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have views over the bay directly from the bed I highly recommend these for waking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrusbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We stayed at Cook's Lookout for 3 nights and it was the perfect place for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Our friendly and helpful host escorted us to the top unit which from the outside looked adequate enough for our needs but when we rounded the bend to the front entrance a view appeared before us that quite literally took our breath away. Because the motel is set a few kilometres away from the main Paihia township it is also very quiet, still, and perfectly tranquil. The unit was clean and had all the utensils we needed including a pair of scissors. It sounds trivial but proves that the owners have put thought into their visitor's needs. Many don't. The bed was so comfortable my wife was moved to say that it was the best sleep she'd had in a long time.

Room Tip: Unit 3 has best the view but a lot of the other units are good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
2.3 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
3.4 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
468 reviews
2.7 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
3.3 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
5.9 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Lookout Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Lookout Motel

Address: 9 Causeway Road | P.O. Box 380, Paihia 0257, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#1 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $146 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cook's Lookout Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, spectacular location with Million Dollar Views. Studio, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments all upgraded with new kitchens and bathrooms, most with stunning ocean views. Totally smoke-free property - no smoking in Buildings OR Grounds. Large solar-heated saltwater swimming pool, trampoline, BBQ, guest laundry, tour desk. FREE Wireless broadband internet access to all units. FREE DVD library & Book Exchange. 4 minutes drive to town centre, 3 minutes to beach. Secure parking outside all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cook's Lookout Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook`s Lookout Hotel Paihia
Cooks Lookout Hotel
Cooks Lookout Paihia
Cook's Lookout Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing