We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$119
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$62
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marlin Court Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$47
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$78
US$75
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Palms Apartments(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paihia TOP 10(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (996)
Filter reviews
996 results
Traveller rating
746
198
34
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
746
198
34
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorm shelaghnew zealandshort drivewarm poolamazing viewspeaceful locationwatching the sunriseharuru fallsgreat hostsglass of wineplaces to visitthree nightspaihia towntwo bedroom unita great place to staylocal areaoverlooking the bay
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 996 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The hotel has a great view towards Waitangi, Paihia, and Russell with good access to Kerikeri. The proprietors could not have been nicer with their help and suggestions. I very much look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms farther up the hill have a better view.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnccoles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

This is the place to stay in Paihia if you want to enjoy the stunning scenery in a quiet, peaceful setting. The views are quite breathtaking. The location could not be any better situated. The small quaint town of Paihia is a 5 minute drive away from the motel, so you are never far from the waterfront, bars, restaurants and local amenities. But by staying at Cook's Lookout you are not immersed in the lively, noisy part of town.
Your hosts, Shelagh and Norm, are such lovely, generous people who will do everything they can to make your stay the best possible one. I could not have asked for better hosts. Their hospitality and knowledge of the area are excellent.
I would highly recommend this motel to anyone. It is smoke free, with a large swimming pool and kitchen facilities in each unit. This really is the only place to stay in Paihia. Book a room at Cook's Lookout and be prepared for the most impressive views of Paihia you will find.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaViolet7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

My partner and I woke up each morning with amazing views over the Bay of Islands right from our bed. It's only about a five minute drive to the main Paihia shops and is also very handy to the Waitangi grounds, and various local adventure activities. The beds are also very comfortable, we woke up feeling quite refreshed.

I initially had some reservations about travelling in August with rain on the forecast, however the showers soon cleared and we were able to enjoy our time in the "winterless north." We even managed to get some Kayaking in. We were actually feeling a little hot at various points, so do come in the off season, it is thoroughly worth it.

We had a lovely time and are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have views over the bay directly from the bed I highly recommend these for waking up to a stunning sunrise each morning.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrusbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We stayed at Cook's Lookout for 3 nights and it was the perfect place for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Our friendly and helpful host escorted us to the top unit which from the outside looked adequate enough for our needs but when we rounded the bend to the front entrance a view appeared before us that quite literally took our breath away. Because the motel is set a few kilometres away from the main Paihia township it is also very quiet, still, and perfectly tranquil. The unit was clean and had all the utensils we needed including a pair of scissors. It sounds trivial but proves that the owners have put thought into their visitor's needs. Many don't. The bed was so comfortable my wife was moved to say that it was the best sleep she'd had in a long time.

Room Tip: Unit 3 has best the view but a lot of the other units are good too.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We stayed at Cook's Lookout for 6 nights. A wonderfully quiet location. The room was well equipped, comfortable and with a view to die for - probably the best in Paihia.
Norm and Shelagh are great hosts and made us feel very welcome. They were very helpful in offering advice on local restaurants, things to see and do and booking trips for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CDGNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews