We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia)
Nearby Hotels
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bella Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bay Cabinz Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
190
37
13
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
37
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomthe kitchenlounge areaapple tvcommon roomcurtain for privacygreat loungewatch netflixperfect hosteldorm bedsno windowrooms are smallcommunal spacebus stopplug socketsown bathroomgreat wifi
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Amazing location and views! Newer hostel so it's very clean and modern. Huge kitchen and its kept very clean. The lounge is spacious and comfy, and the views are unbeatable-- literally right across the street from the harbour!

The only negative was how unbearably hot the rooms were. I stayed here 3 nights and probably averaged 3-4 hours of sleep per night because i was dripping in sweat. The rooms are small and cramped with literally no ventilation and you can't open the windows. At one point I felt like i had no other option but to go to the lounge to sleep since the windows were open in there, but after several mozzies were buzzing around my ears I went back to the room. After the second night, myself and my roommates decided it would be better if we asked reception for a door stop so we could keep the door open all night-- it definitely helped with the temperature but not ideal to be sleeping with the door wide open all night. They do provide a fan but it doesn't do much without proper ventilation.

Overall everything was great, except the temp of the rooms!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessMack12, Assistant Manager at Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia), responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Thanks Layla for your feedback. We are glad to hear that your stay here was a great one despite your sleep disruption due to the heat. Paihia can get very hot in the summer and we are aware that the current ventilation needs to be upgraded from what was initially thought to be sufficient during the renovation of the lodge. Please know we are in the process of solving this problem and have done everything we can in the meantime! Nevertheless, we are pleased that this didn't affect your experience and enjoyed everything else our lodge has to offer! Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

it's a nice hostel all together with a lovely kitchen & lounge area and the perfect location!
However the rooms are terrible - tiny dorm rooms with not much room to turn around. The worse part is there is no air-conditioning in the rooms! Some of the rooms have fans in them, however we stayed there for three nights and asked frequently for a fan in our room but never got one and heard a few other people complaining as well. You are not allowed to open the windows so it's literally a sauna you sleep in. We ended up sleeping with the door open, however the lights in the hallway are turned on over night and light the whole room up, so not the best solution either!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessMack12, Assistant Manager at Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia), responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Hi Evelyn,
We're sorry to hear your stay with us wasn't as comfortable as it could have been. We do feel, however, that a one star review is somewhat unjustified. There are many amazing aspects to our lodge with the incredible view, and large communal lounge and kitchen as you said and even our dorms are one of a kind with their privacy curtains, powerpoints and personal lights to mention a few. We are aware the rooms can get warm on a night and we have tried to do all we can to help with this. I can't imagine many hostels have air-con but we do have ventilation that brings fresh air from outside, but given the summer season, the air from outside is going to be warmer than usual. The windows in the rooms at that side of the building are sealed shut for fire regulation reasons which we know is not ideal but we have tried to counter this by also putting fans in each room. We are unsure why there wasn't one during your stay as there is one fan for every room in the hostel but we don't recall this ever been brought to our attention otherwise our staff would have done all they can to rectify this. Again, we understand that sleeping with the door open wasn't ideal either, but in regards to the light, each bunk has its own blackout curtain to block out any this light. All in all, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us despite all our positive features and we wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The common loungeroom/kitchen is a great space and has wonderful rooms, but there is no where to sit outside.

The 4 bed dorm was very cramped for four people and we had very inconsiderate room mates. No ventilation in room - no openable window.

Kitchen was not clean as is often the case when lots of people are passing through - i hate making breakfast in a messy/dirty kitchen.

Would stay a bit further out of town next time to avoid the crowds.

Convenient location close to pier, restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Get a private room
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank terriehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessMack12, Assistant Manager at Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia), responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry to hear that you had very inconsiderate room mates. Our front desk staff are always available to help solve any issues you may have during your stay and would have been happy to help resolve this if you had brought it to attention. All the dorm rooms have personal storage lockers to ensure that you have enough space to move around freely - unfortunately, we cannot always control whether people use these or not. In terms of the messy kitchen - the kitchen is thoroughly cleaned twice a day and all guests are informed upon check-in that we expect them to be clean and tidy during their stay. Most of the time this is respected but we are sorry that this wasn't the case when you were here. Thanks again for your review and glad that your stay wasn't dramatically affected by a few negative coincidences. All the best during your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Clean, perfect location for exploring Paihia, comfortable bunk beds (loved the privacy curtain!). The shower was the best I ever had in any hostel, the lounge is amazing and comfortable (and with a fantastic view to boot!) and the staff are friendly and always up for answering questions.
Only drawback was that it was very hot in the room. I stayed over in summer, so it was to be expected I suppose, and a good fan was provided, but unfortunately we couldn't open a window to get actual airmovement during the night.
Still, I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Bay of Islands.

Room Tip: perfect location
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank winterskitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessMack12, Assistant Manager at Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia), responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Thank you for giving us this 5 star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to anyone looking for a place to stay. Our view from the lounge is definitely one of our best features - perfect for relaxing and watching the world go by. Hopefully you managed to get up for the sunrise that can be seen right from the Lodge! We are aware that the rooms can get a little hot in summer and are working towards a long term solution but have done all we can in the meantime. We're glad to see this didn't affect you stay. Hopefully, you will get the opportunity to visit us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Clean, convenient & pleasant stay with nothing to complain on.
Nice, greeting staff.
The nicest hostel kitchen I've seen (with an great view over the harbour)

Curtains on the bed (privacy) and usb-outlets for you intenational travellers without an adapter. 5/5 would definatively go back!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emelie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessMack12, Assistant Manager at Haka Lodge Bay of Islands (Paihia), responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Amazing review Emelie! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and have no negative comments! Our team work hard to create a clean, comfortable and friendly environment for our guests and we're glad you enjoyed the extras our dorm beds provide! Thanks again and we hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Lodge someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews