We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience River Rats Raft & Kayak
from US$94.12
More Info
from US$123.31
More Info
from US$137.90
More Info
from US$123.31
More Info
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveller rating
864
48
7
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
864
48
7
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grade trip great fun new zealand beautiful scenery hot pools rapids safety photos falls paddling adventure whitewater wairoa blast instructor thrill novice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 926 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice combination of exhilaration while never feeling unsafe. Guide was very nice and professional. Beautiful river.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank jonofnothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverRatNZ, Owner at River Rats Raft & Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for you 5 star review.
The length of the Kaituna trip is its best and worst feature.
With its close proximity to Rotorua and shorter duration it means you can fit more than one thing in a day.
However it's so awesome it leaves you wanting more.
We do have longer trips available on the Rangitaiki and Wairoa Rivers for those that want to spend more time on the water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2021

Wow such a fun time. Well worth the experience, definitely something to tick off your bucket list! Thank you!

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank L1317IDjessicab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverRatNZ, Owner at River Rats Raft & Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

Cheers for taking the time to post a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2021

I 1000% recommend Nev & Ant from River Rats to white water raft the Kaituna River! The service was excellent & they were helpful every step of the way. Nev manned the back of the raft & Ant was a support kayaker never far away. Nev was such a hoot, constantly making us laugh. Their years of experience & mix of humour made our morning so enjoyable while feeling safe in their hands going down the grade 5 rapids, surrounded by beautiful NZ scenery.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank katrina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverRatNZ, Owner at River Rats Raft & Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

Thank you for putting a smile on our faces with your awesome review. 1000% is a lot :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2021

Very nice experience for the children and myself. Experienced staff and instructions were clear. Scenic, nature and an informative guide made the day a very nice experience. Would be nice if somehow pictures/video of the day were available for purchase but I guess the logistics are difficult. Just a would be nice feedback.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank mikeldubnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverRatNZ, Owner at River Rats Raft & Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2021 via mobile

I was a little apprehensive about taking our 8 year old daughter rafting, but Justin put us at ease from the get go. Our 14, 12 and 8 year old kids all had a blast floating and rafting through this beautiful part of New Zealand. We went into caves, drank pure spring water from pristine water falls and flipped from the front of the raft. I couldn't recommend this experience more highly - Justin was a skilled and knowledgeable guide and we will be back in 2 years when our daughter is old enough to do the grade 3 trip!!!

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Inspire36348852776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverRatNZ, Owner at River Rats Raft & Kayak, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2021

Thank you for your awesome review.
We look forward to seeing you on the upper section in a few years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews