We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Glorious Pools”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Unit 5 had all that we needed. Keeping in mind that this is an old building, it wasn't flash but was comfortable and spacious and everything worked just fine. Our car park was right out the front of our lodge.

The 2 main pools were full and ready to use as soon as we got there so in we hopped. Meditating in these pools and allowing the healing properties of the geo thermal water to to just "be" in, helped my aching legs alot! Night time in the pools was beautiful as we float and look at the stars.

The 2 other smaller pools were being cleaned but were filled up the next day. Very private pools for 2 or 3 people - lovely.

Towels and toiletries were replenished daily with a smile :) The man at the fron desk was very helpful in confirming a Maori Village tour for me. A great stay ..... try the sauna too !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights there and booked for 4 people.
For the price. you can get so much more in other motels.
The first unit we stayed in, had a problem with the heater, it was like being in a sauna. The beds were uncomfortable, broken curtains, you couldn't close them properly. No wi-fi.
But the worst, the cleanliness was terrible.
The second night (because of the heater issue), we had been moved to another unit, I had hopes but it was as terrible. The unit was dirty, towels with stains and I found a dead insect in one bedroom.
The outdoor hot tubs are also in a terrible state, I didn't even dare using any of them.
The nicest moment was when we left. I cannot believe this place is still open, for people traveling from far, it is a shame to end up in this motel. It is a total waste of money.
Maybe it used to be good but when we visited they was nothing positive about it. At least, we have a good laugh when we think back about this place!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank envie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This was a great Stay for us, yes the rooms are abit dated but they are tidy and we were informed by the owner he is planning on updating, the housekeeping staff were very helpful. Having the Hot pools was a huge bonus as anywhere else you have to pay to use them and they are included in your room price!! Cheap Accommodation would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbug041983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Shame this place has been left to deteriorate so much. But it's clean and reasonably priced. Saved some money and was good having natural mineral pools though not the most beautiful pools they are not awful. The cooker was disappointingly grotty however so didn't use that. Would consider staying again if on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kiritopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed there for one night. It is hard to find due to the tree covering the sign. It is right on the main street. But it is quiet and big enough for two. The plus is the hot spring spa. The owner is not very talktive. You have to ask questions to get what you want to know.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank li000044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
768 reviews
0.4 km away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#13 of 91 in Rotorua
640 reviews
4 km away
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
2.7 km away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 91 in Rotorua
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge

Address: 99 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: $45 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utuhina Hot Springs Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing