We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated / Dirty / Unhelpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Booked here with a family of 5. Was presented with a room with four beds and a broken sofa bed. There was no bedding for the fifth person, crockery chipped and damaged and not even enough plates for everyone. Hot springs are less than hot and poorly maintained. Bathroom had remnants of past guests in empty soap sachets in shower. Reception closed and had to deal with owner from his front door and everything seemed like a hassle. This place has so much potential, but the combination of allowing residents to stay here and the lack of care from the owners / cleaners meant that we felt dirty and uncomfortable from the moment we arrived. The only redeeming feature is the location. All in all, a stay on a park bench would have been more sanitary and we wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 88lukem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We were going to stay for a week left after 1 night.Room old dirty /smelly. Pillows stained, no cutlery one power point on the floor room freezing. Toilet unsafe.place run down ,no wifi .Photos on websites inaccurate

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Suitable for friend or family in small group. There is few type of lodge available depend on how many person you would like to accommodate. We chosen the lodge for 15 pax. Very spacious. All rooms with warmer. All toilet with hot cold for bath. There is a sharing hot spring pool you can enjoy during day/night. Recommended for group of 5-10 persons. There is fridge, kitchen and some cutlery. But too bad no washing machine and dryer.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Littledeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as a last minute decision and I wish we chose to stay elsewhere! This place was so so filthy, grotty and dirty, the shower cubicle floor tiles had a slimy feel, it was so dilapidated and the dishes were dirty so we had to wash them before we used them and drip dry because the tea towels supplied stunk of dampness. The dishcloth looked like it had been in use for months, when opening the kitchen cupboard it stunk like a damp mouldy stench, and some of the power sockets were broken which exposed the wiring inside the wall. It looked like a concert of insects had a meeting and all died on the window sills, not all the lighting worked and we also didn't have enough blankets for this time of year. The mineral pools were so dirty and run down and I was looking forward to these in particular, the unit we stayed in had two single beds in the lounge area and no sofa to sit on, the lounge area stunk of urine and the carpet was absolutely filthy. I also discovered cockroaches in the fn shower!!!! I questioned the manager (who was extremely rude and unhelpful and he looked annoyed like we just interrupted his favourite tv show) as to why our room wasn't done and why we hadn't been given fresh towels - his reply was "you were asleep and you didn't answer the door so we didn't clean it." Total bullsh.. and pure laziness on their part, as we had left at 9am that morning. I think there are permanent residents that live in some of the units - on a number of occasions we were blocked in by their cars or blocking our exit which was so annoying! And the "tiled" driveway was all broken and full of potholes. Management clearly don't give a single sh.. about the customers and they especially don't give a sh.. about the filthy, dilapidated premises! Worst place I've ever ever EVER stayed in and will never stay there again!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank dellzsnowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Basic accommodation with everything you need. We really enjoyed the hot pools on the property and riverside location. Close to walk to the church and lake boardwalk. With some maintenance the place could be great: new towels, fix leaky taps, garbage bin in bathroom. We appreciated the fridge, microwave, toaster, and kettle, and used all to self-cater. We were surprised that our dishes weren't taken to be washed when cleaning them in the bathroom sink was so difficult. The room was pretty noisy; it was easy to hear people in rooms beside and above. We were also really upset to find a nail sticking up in the carpet! There was a used bandaid sitting beside the hot pool for our entire three day stay so I wouldn't rate them a 5 for cleanliness.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank World_Wanderer127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.3 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
765 reviews
0.9 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 km away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
0.2 km away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 91 in Rotorua
640 reviews
2.7 km away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 91 in Rotorua
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge

Address: 99 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: $45 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Utuhina Hot Springs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utuhina Hot Springs Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing