We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waitomo Caves & Rotorua Small Group Tour including Te Puia from Auckland
78

Book in advance
from
US$231.24
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Te Puia
from US$231.24
More Info
from US$330.63
More Info
from US$125.23
More Info
from US$184.85
More Info
Reviews (5,762)
Filter reviews
5,762 results
Traveller rating
3,282
1,765
517
137
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,282
1,765
517
137
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour kiwi house mud pools maori culture pohutu geyser weaving school kiwi bird arts and crafts cultural experience new zealand meeting house gift shop geothermal activity buffet dinner thermal park hot pools haka
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,477 - 2,482 of 5,762 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We purchased this as part of the "Middle Earth Trilogy" combo and it was a an incredible experience. We enjoyed a guided tour around the thermal park upon arrival. Our guide was incredibly informative and passionate, explaining all different parts of the park and Maori culture. They have a beautiful geyser which we were lucky enough to
see go off twice, one around dusk and the other after our festivities. After our tour we met our host for rest of the evening, Guy. He was funny, outspoken and did a great job making sure we knew what was going on for the show and dinner. They put on a great musical and cultural exhibition which I was lucky enough to take part in as the "Chief" representing our tourist tribe as they ceremoniously invited us into the hall for the show. They demonstrated music, dance, martial arts and lore from their culture. The ladies of the audience were invited onstage to try their luck at Poi dancing and I was "elected" to lead my tourist people in the happiest haka ever (mostly because I was having so much fun trying to keep up with the body movements and kept forgetting the warface). After, we enjoyed a buffet spread of excellently prepared and traditional Maori food cooked in an earth oven. Once dinner was over anyone that wanted could join Guy to see the geyser which they light up at night. An incredible, informative and very tasty experience we will not soon forget. -Chief Jason (Las Vegas)

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank JKBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016


Kia Ora!

Thank you for the review, we appreciate the kind words. We are happy that you were able to have an awesome time with us and we take great pride in providing the best service to our customers. We are so blessed with the best group of guides that provide so much knowledge to our visitors and really make sure that our visitors are well informed and have a great time with us.

Te Po is a great insight into our organisation, as the night sky illuminates our already beautiful geyser and the dinner service, along with the cultural performance are also another treat that our visitors enjoy.
Hope to see you again, take care!

Nga Mihi Nui,
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

The Yellow Stone of New Zealand. Tour guides were so professional and full of history of the area. Wonderful destination to explore.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Kia Ora!

Thank you for the review, we appreciate the kind words. We are happy that you were able to have an awesome time with us and we take great pride in providing the best service to our customers. We are so blessed with the best group of guides that provide so much knowledge to our visitors and really make sure that our visitors are well informed and have a great time with us.

Hope to see you again, take care!

Nga Mihi Nui,
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We booked this as part of the Middle Earth Trilogy which included this, The Hobbiton Movie Set Tour and the Waitomo Caves. A really great value and would cost way more to book separately.

A free transfer shuttle picked us up from hotel which the owner of the hotel arranged for us and took us to Te Puia. At 4.30 we went on a tour with Paul who took us through the geysers and hot mud pools and also the kiwi bird house (you may not see one as they often are sleeping up the back of the enclosure). We also had a small amount of history of the Maori people and the area in general. We then left Paul and met Guy who became our evening cultural entertainment and dinner host. He showed us the traditional meal prep the Hangi which is a meal prepared in a pit over hot rocks. And then watched a Maori dance show. The ladies and men both were able to go on stage and learn Poi and the Haka respectively. Once the show was finished we had the buffet dinner which was delicious (drinks are extra, but water and tea and coffee are free). Then we got into the tram that took us to the geysers once more and sat on the rocks with hot chocolate.

A wonderful experience all round.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank ryanw408
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Kia Ora!

It is always great to hear from our customers, especially when they are such great reviews like this one. We loved reading your thoughtful review and we thank you for giving us such kind words. Yes, we are truly fortunate to have so many awesome features like the geo thermal geysers and mud pools, along with other great assets like Kiwi House and the carving and weaving schools. Maori culture also ties this all together as the history of the land is well documented and our guides do their part in informing our visitors of the vast knowledge that is passed down generation to generation.

We hope that you will come and visit us again, take care!

Nga Mihi Nui,
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Very informative tour provided and very spiritual. Our tour guide was very captivating and intellectual. Nice Maori fella with wavy black hair couldn't remember his name but he was spot on!. I took my friend visiting from Canada and she was so moved by it all! Awesome place!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank HectorL526
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Kia Ora!

Thank you for the review, we appreciate the kind words. We are happy that you were able to have an awesome time with us and we take great pride in providing the best service to our customers. We are so blessed with the best group of guides that provide so much knowledge to our visitors and really make sure that our visitors are well informed and have a great time with us.

Hope to see you again, take care!

Nga Mihi Nui,
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

on our tour of New Zealand this was the first opportunity that we were able to see the volcanic and thermal power up close. we were not disappointed, the geyser erupting like clockwork project a jet of super heated water approximately 30 ft into the air, was spectacular to say the least. The only disappointment was the so called opportunity to see a live kiwi bird. We were led into a shed which was so pitch black inside, it was impossible to see the baby birds. we were informed that this was because they were nocturnal. Understandable but disappointing nevertheless.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank PATRICKDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Tena Koe!

We truly value the review you have given us. It is great to see that you had a lovely time with us and we make sure that our customers are well taken care of. We are so lucky to have the geo thermal features, like the geyser and mud pools for our visitors to see up close and personal. Pohutu is truly a surreal sight to witness.

We hope you visit us again, safe travels!

Nga Mihi Nui,
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews