We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
23
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshosts sueliving roomview of the lakenew zealandhangibalconyaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Accommodation is situated approx 10 minutes drive outside and to the North of the town in a residential area right next to the lake - beautiful.
The rooms are wonderful - very large - and you have a spacious separate lounge area and a balcony looking over lovely lake rotorua.
Breakfasts were lovely and the owners more than happy to flex to each person's tastes.
In fact the owners were very nice people and were pro-active to fix up things for us to do in this area, e.g. an evening Hungi - great fun.
Beware flies, etc at night, there are many - all the windows have secure mesh nets and you need them.
This was one of the best B & B's we stayed at in NZ - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Either room is fantastic. Note there is not a beach as such, although we did see a family paddling in the lake once.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastbourneoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Spent 2 nights there. Spacious room, nice lounge, common balcony with great views of Lake Roturua. Everything tiptop in order. Colin was a great host. Breakfast good, nice muesli and great fruitsalad.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdaams53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

This is a lodge where you feel at Home from the First Minute ! It is a cosy place with Great Access to the Rotorua Lake. Breakfast is delicious. Susan and Colin are giving Great advise of what to Do in the area.

Room Tip: All Rooms are great
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steffikircher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

This B&B had an excellent location directly at the lake. Our room (one of two) was spacious, the bed perfect and there was an additional lounge area (shared with the second room) with a balcony and beautiful view over the lake. Sue and Colin were so nice, giving their best everyday and making you feel like being at home. Breakfast was great, there was nothing we missed. A place to remember.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ch_dominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Tickled Trout as part of our New Zealand adventure. All I can say is, it was everything and more than we'd anticipated. Warm welcome,amazing room/view/site/breakfast! Outstanding! Sue and Colin were the perfect host's and were on hand to offer tip's and advice as to what was available to us relating to our needs. We would definitely recommend a stay here!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Andyharv64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tickledtrout0504, Owner at Tickled Trout Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Hi Deborah and Andy
It was our absolute pleasure to have you stay with us. We feel like we have made new friends and will definitely take you up on your offer to stay when we next venture to England. Look forward to seeing some of the lovely photos you took when you arrive home. Safe travels.
Love and kindest regards
Sue and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews