We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally an incredible experience”
Review of Table Restaurant

Table Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 191 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Table at Nice Boutique Hotel is an award-winning restaurant considered to be New Plymouth’s finest. A destination in its own right, Table offers international cuisine with a kiwi twist. The hotel’s personality flows through to the dining spaces - delivering uncomplicated elegance into a number of private rooms and a tropical garden oasis with an outdoor fire for the winter months. Visit the restaurant or New York style bar for a variety of occasions including intimate or group dining, weddings and events, after work drinks or daytime coffee catch-ups.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Words cannot express our amazing experience at Table @ Nice Hotel. Standout for me was the Salmon starter, served delicately positioned on a stone. While my husband's Wagu lingered as his favourite. A glorious dessert followed by a espresso completed the best meal I have had in a very long time. Great service, incredible decor and spectacular food, left these two locals in heaven.

Thank Saintfield001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018

My wife and I visit this establishment every year for our anniversary and we are never disappointed. From the gorgeous entree shared platters (Yum!!!) to the beautifully cooked main meals to the delicious desserts, you'd be hard pressed to find fault with any of their meals. Yes, there menu does change every now and again to use more seasonal food items, but generally the food is similar to previous menus. I know there are people out there who love to look for faults where ever they go but it would be hard to fault Table Restaurant. We'll be back next year, you can gaurantee that!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ColNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Four of us were visiting New Plymouth for a long weekend and wanted somewhere to eat within walking distance of our accommodation. The "chooser" for that night settled on Table, and we were so glad he did!

We had beef, lamb and duck and all were utterly delicious. We noticed as we paid later that the restaurant had won a NZ Beef and Lamb Award, not surprising. The different plates looked wonderful, had lots of different flavours and textures, and all were outstanding. Great choice of vegetables and purée with each meat.

The only thing we didn't like so much was our choice of broccoli with chilli as an extra vegetable. Although it was really good, we found it a bit strong for the other flavours on our plates. But that was just us.

We weren't going to have dessert, but because the mains had been so good we wanted to see what the chef would do, and we definitely weren't disappointed. We shared the lemon and the chocolate desserts and both were imaginative and sublimely more-ish.

There was a good wine list, and our waitress was really good too.

The meal wasn't cheap, but neither was it madly expensive, and we all felt we'd had great value for our money.

We'd love to return some day. Recommended. Lovely finale to a great weekend in this lovely city.

Thank spanishkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Stayed in the Nice Hotel and dined in house. Meal was ok, with a nice dessert, but not memorable. Smart decor was not matched by an equal attention to the food. Had to send the chicken back as it was undercooked, and the maitre d’ removed the price from the bill and was apologetic. The other main was bland and disappointing.

Thank Katieclem46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceHotel71, Front Office Manager at Table Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

We are sorry to hear this Katie. We are wondering when you visited as we have not had any Chicken on the menu since Mothers day?
We hope you try us again with our New Chefs.
Don't hesitate to give us a call to discuss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

I have dined at this restaurant quite a few times during my visits home to New Plymouth. Whilst the food was always good, this time, (May 2018) was amazing. So much so I even asked if the chef(s) had changed, and yes, they were new in the past 3 weeks. My Mother is still talking about it. I live in Sydney, and have dined at the best, plus all over the world. The complimentary taster to start was sooooo good, I'm still remembering it. Our meals and service were just superb. 5 star no doubt, and this is the place to go in NP.

Thank Christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceHotel71, Front Office Manager at Table Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you so much Christine we are always pleased when things go to plan and our guests go away happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Table Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Table Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing