We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The State Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Landmark Manor Motel(New Plymouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amber Court Motel(New Plymouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nice Hotel & Table(New Plymouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lockwood Manor Motel(New Plymouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
130
52
7
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
52
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjoe's garageguest loungeboutique hotelrestaurant downstairscomplimentary bottled waterno elevatoreasy access to shopsstunning decorfacing the streetcool vibeeclectic collection of artquieter roomhotel entrythe hotel managersmall hotelreading roomgreat hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Clean & well presented, the room and hotel makes you feel you're not just in another hotel - eclectic art and displays throughout, while maintaining a contemporary look. Checking in late was facilitated via a virtual front desk - super easy. Great location on Devon Street in the center of town, and with plenty of options to dine-out in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 288hamishm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

There is no manned reception at this hotel, but we managed to work out how to get into the premises. Our key for our room was in the small reception area, where we made our way up the short flight of stairs to our room. We both thought the hotel, guest lounge and our room were well appointed with lovely touches of art work with special care taken to make one feel welcome. Our safe wasn't working and we rang the Manager who came immediately to try to sort it out for us, to no avail, but that was minor in the scheme of things.

The air conditioning was a tad noisey and as our room was above the restaurant below, the late night revellers also contributed to the noise level. The bathroom was well planned for a small place, although I thought the soap holder could have been in the corner as it was a tad awkward to place it in the holder, just saying.

We parked around the back of the hotel which was a tad tight, but one could access the car park via a rear door thru the hotel on exiting. We stayed here because we wanted to visit the Len Lye Centre. The hotel is very central and if we ever pass this way again, would stay here, but maybe in a quieter room.

Only downside of our visit was that Mt Taranaki was shrouded in cloud, so never got to see that majestic mountain, would also like to do the coastal walk, all the more reason to return.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 514shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful eclectic mix of original character building features, comfortable modern facilities and artworks. So accomodating re check in and leaving baggage. Walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Such good value, thanks. Would definitely book again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Check in was a new experience for me as it was via a video phone call. No problem at all, just new to me so might be new to others. I had been upgraded to a Queen room so can only comment on that type. Though we were close to a main road, the room was lovely and quiet once all windows and doors closed. The bed was very comfy, the room well appointed and laid out. Full kitchen facilities, nice modern appointments to the unit. Would happily return.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This hotel is in a prime location on New Plymouth! Rooms were immaculate! Gorgeous decor and bedding was luxurious and so comfortable! Free parking and great staff! I highly recommend staying at The State Hotel on your next visit to New Plymouth! 12/10!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kelseajsillar96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews