We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great family hotel”
Review of City Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Suites
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

i felt very welcomed and was treated extreamly well, great service and a big smile and will point you in the right direction for all your needs

Room Tip: if there is room they will accomidate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 297 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

My Wife and I were visiting family for xmas in Tauranga.
To allow for more room in my sisters house we decided to stay in other accommodation for the duration of the holiday.
On a friends recommendation we made a booking at the City Suites, based on the fact that they had just been done up and were in a very central location.
We stayed for a total of 10 days and in that time could not fault them on the rooms, sevice, price and location.
The rooms while not over the top were neat, clean and comfortable.
The sevice was excellent, and as a previous reviewer wrote, " nothing was to much of a problem", from Shirley at the front desk to the ladies servicing the rooms we recieved happy smiles and a willingness to help out if asked, or privacy if required.
The location is excellent and my wife and I enjoyed a quick walk into town each morning for a coffee and breakfast.
The Suites also have secure underground parking.
As we are from Australia the price was always going to be on the right side, but when the conversion to NZ dollars is made it still seems to be worth the dollars paid.
Overall we would recommend the City Suites to anyone wanting a central place to stay when visiting Tauranga, and we would have no hesitation on staying there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My company booked me into this motel and it was a good move. Room was spacious, clean and reasonably well appointed. A couple of downside points being the TV's which are disappointing - not tuned in and in need of upgrading. The fridges are old and don't keep the contents cold enough. Other than those 2 criticisms the place is a haven - quiet and restful.

The hosts make the place. They are so friendly and cannot do enough for you. Nothing is too much bother and they make you feel like you belong.

A really good place to stay and I would recommend the place every time to visitors to Tauranga.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colinrbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We searched for weeks to find a nice, affordable place to stay for New Years and then we found City Suites. Leading up to the 29th (check-in day) we were all very excited! Arrived to very lovely hosts who had already let half our group in there room even though they had not paid.

Rooms were a good size for 1 bedroom and the fold out couches were a decent size. Large dinning room table was used a lot for big dinners for our 10 people group. Only had one cooked dinner though as we were too scared in case the smoke alarm went off, the elements would over heat the pans quickly even though on a low heat.

The house keeping ladies were lovely!! Every morning stopped by to swap dirty towels for clean ones and then leave us to sleep. Hosts were lovely and understanding on new years eve. Guests next to us and below us were also lovely :)

Thanks heap Shirley and co!
From the very loud stomping Auckland group

Room Tip: Higher floors would probably be better and we had a few complaints about us walking up and down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

In Tauranga there aren't any hotels of the type you'd find in a bigger city so if you're after a hotel experience then you're going to have to compromise. This hotel is a three-star if properly rated for the reason of lack of services needed to get to four star. Really this property is a motel with hotel quality rooms. As a motel this is a very good property.

The rooms are a good size and generally clean. The bed is a good size and the linen is clean. The vanity in the bathroom is made from Formica and the grout could do with restoration since it's discolored as in the silicone pipping around the bath. The towels are fluffy. The kitchen consists of two hot plates and a microwave. The walls are papered and in the bedroom there is bubbling to the point that the paper needs replacing. There is considerable road noise during the day but this largely disappears at night as the road becomes quiet.

In the wardrobes you'll find anti-theft coat hangers. These are always a sign of problems - if the starting point of service from the hotel is an assumption that customers are dishonest then you're in trouble as a customer. Nice coat hangers with an option to buy works for most of the hotels I stay in.

And, so we come to the service...

We've stayed at this property three times and this will be the last time due to the service. Twice we have had a confirmed booking for the Honeymoon Suite and twice upon arrival something has gone wrong. The first time the room had ACIDENTALLY been doubled booked. How this is possible in a hotel is beyond me. We didn't visit again for nealry seven years after that fiasco. This time we were given a key to a room we handn't booked again. While this was changed when we complained to the room we had booked it seems there's a pattern here; at least in our experience. There was an excuse, of course, but an unbelivably terrible one. Our expectation here is not unreasonable - we just want what we have a confirmed booking for. In this case we booked a room with a spa bath and that is what we expected to be given.

I suppose you could say the service is consistent by giving us the same silliness between our visits many years apart but this is not the sort of experience we want to pay for.

Room Tip: Make sure you're given the room you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrYellowDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.6 km away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,110 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
534 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#22 of 57 in Tauranga
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
319 reviews
0.2 km away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
132 reviews
1.0 km away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Suites

Address: 32 Cameron Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Puriri Park Boutique Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tauranga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tauranga
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tauranga
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tauranga
#7 Family Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: $124 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Suites is Tauranga's newest accommodation option, right in the heart of the city. With only a 5 minute walk to the CBD, or a 10 minute drive to the beaches of Mount Maunganui, City Suites has all you could want, whether you are traveling for business or fancy a weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Suites Tauranga, South Pacific - New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing