We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quest on Durham
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Suites(Tauranga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strand Motel(Tauranga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Armitage(Tauranga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Roselands Motel(Tauranga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Harbour View Motel(Tauranga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
42
60
24
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
60
24
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher dryerthe ground floorspa bathbedroom separatedshared balconystudio apartmentunderground parkingthe kitchenper nightwalking distancesliding doorliving arealate checkoutcheck in was easyvery nice staylarge roomnice balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Changed from another hotel just wanted to see how Quest on Durham was. Well, can't say not good. Location was good, close enough yp restaurants and water front. Room was spacious, bed was king sized. View good, but facilities a little worn. Spa bath blows out little black debris, even after 3rd time cleaning. Carparks were tight, and I scratched one of my alloys on some of the narrow turns, ouch! Well, would consider in future.. Not near future though. And definitely won't drive a 7 seater.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pstango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram v, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for your comments
The Quest on Durham is an apartment complex and we are pleased that you enjoyed the room, its view and its location.
The spa baths are regularly cleaned including all the pipe. There is a sensor on the spa bath (not seen) that measures the height of the water (near the top) that enable the spa to work efficiently and correctly. We have revisited the spa bath and all seems in order.
Access to the car-park is tight, especially if you have a large vehicle although there are large vehicles parked down there.
Regards and we hope that you will stay with us again
The team from Quest on Durham, Tauranga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

This will be my second visit and needless to say I won’t be rushing back here.

The number one thing for this apartment hotel is definitely its location to the Tauranga waterfront and shops.

Both stays have been for weddings and for this particular stay the bridal party stayed here the night before the wedding and we booked extra rooms for our own partners.

The rooms are in good condition and are reasonably priced however could do with a little upkeep.

Both stays have been on the entry level floor and on this occasion the halfway smelled of piss and someone cooking Indian which lingered in our room when the smell begun.

The bridal room was located next to the reception and staff knew we were there for a wedding even congratulating the bride upon check in.

On the day of the wedding the owners and staff thought it was a good idea to move old furniture and items through the shared balcony and out the gate. Needless to say I was in impressed. I understand it is a shared balcony however the privacy of this room was interrupted as well as the noise of heavy footed people walking back and forth. At no point were we even acknowledged or apologised to. Which was disappointing. The brides sister also used the same establishment and stayed the room she had was more private. Literally don’t understand how we ended up with the most public room when the staff knew what we were there for. Brides beware!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ainsleeash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram v, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Ainsleeash
Thank you for your feedback. We have reviewed as to what happened.
By placing you in that apartment (on Diana's request and not knowing the neighbour was moving) we agree as with other people who have used this apartment for weddings that it is ideally suited for ease of access taking into consideration photographers, flowers, well wishers, etc.
The people next door own and live in their apartment. At the time, we did not know that they were moving their furniture from their apartment - apparently they moved out of their apartment that day.
The apartment complex caters for Quest Guests as well as private owners.
All the apartments have cooking and laundry facilities. The hallways are common to all and are cleaned by the body corp on a regular basis.
We wish you all the best going forward
The team at Quest on Durham, Tauranga


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

We were really disappointed in this property. We expected more - or at least "good" being a Quest. Our apartment had ants (not the property owner's fault of course), but with the dining table that was near collapsing, the unclean cutlery and the very nasty white stains all over the lounge which we had to put a towel over, it all added up to a stay we would have preferred to have elsewhere. Reception were very apologetic and wrote notes though, so I hope the issues have been rectified. There were also two sets of double-doors you had to go through to get to your rooms which were odd - they were like operating theatre doors and we couldn't help but call out "Nurses, stat!" as we walked through them.

Room Tip: Not sure. There are only 2 levels of apartments, the others are privately owned, so all apartments are close to street level.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank iancT4518RP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram v, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

We appreciate your feedback.
As we operate a a reasonably large complex the double fire doors are to separate areas in case of fire.
The dining table has been tightened - we noted a couple of loose nuts that hold the table legs in place.
The couch / sofa bed has now been steam-cleaned and the cutlery checked.
We checked with the previous owners concerning the ants that were attacking the rubbish bin. They assured us that this has not been a problem in the past. We are continuing to monitor.
We hope that on your next stay that we are able to meet your expectations
Regards and all the best
The team from Quest on Durham, Tauranga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Appears to be a hotel on the bottom two levels of the tower block that houses apartments.

Rooms were relatively sparse but functional.

Has a gym and sauna available as well as underground parking.

Short work to town and parking plentiful on the street.

After hours arrival key available in security box.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank PJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram v, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

We appreciate your feedback. The Quest on Durham, Tauranga is a managed apartment complex operating the bottom two floors of a larger complex. Each apartment has kitchenette and laundry facilities. The majority of apartments have access to a balcony / decking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Good location, ok rooms, average service.

I stayed here for one night for work. I don’t recommend this place for short business travel. It has no restaurant or night reception. Tricky when you work late and need to check in and grab a bite.

Rooms were clean.

This is apartments do it accommodates long term renters.

Good for holidays not for work!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Legna00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram v, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

We note your comments. Most of the Quest on Durham, Tauranga quests are corporate and people passing that require a room for a short periods (average stay at the Quest is under 2 days). We do accommodate longer stay quests. The apartments are located on the fringe of town with many different type of eatery's within easy (5 minutes) walking distance. We have a lock box that is easy to use for those guest that do arrive later in the night. We also provide secure underground parking.
The team from The Quest on Durham, Tauranga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews