We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$147
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
At Home Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$117
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
The Dwellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$53
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,740)
Filter reviews
1,740 results
Traveller rating
754
707
203
52
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
754
707
203
52
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewste papaoriental paradegreat locationfamily roomsmall balconyharbour viewsuperior roomcourtney placeacross the roadvalet parkingshort walknew world supermarketfree wifitop floornew zealandcourtenay placeking bed
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 1,740 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Hotel is right in the centre of oriental bay on the roadside and our room overlooked the harbour with a small balcony . Stunning backdrop of the cliffs with the accomadation dotted high up and low down .Food was good and plentiful , staff very helpful.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 6,607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear 6007

Your review is bang on. Thanks so much for taking the time to write it.

Appreciate it.

Thanks
Karyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

In wellington for a concert with my partner, arranged for wine and flowers to be waiting in the room, staff were very happy to help make the stay special. View was awesome and room was very comfortable and nice. Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: Harbour View was great!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markbr586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Markbr586

Thanks for your comment. I remember the flowers they were absolutely beautiful. Your partner was very lucky. We love making our guest feel special and are so please you enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to your next stay.

Thanks
Karyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

The website made the rooms look amazing, but when you see them in person they need some maintenance and a lick of paint. We paid for the Superior suite and it was just like any old room. I also reccomend if you are a light sleeper to be placed further up or on the otherside, we got the Harbourside suite and yes we wanted the view but I would have rather been higher up for the amount of money we paid.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side are noisy
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Rosie H

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do have fabulous views, to get the best harbour view you need to book a harbour view room, these all have hush glass installed which removes any street noise.

Thanks
Karyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Initially I had to turn down an upgraded room as the reception had failed to recognise that there were 2 guest which was clearly identified upon my reservation print out. I was travelling with my adult son (23 years of age), I therefore had to accept an inferior room with 2 beds which was positioned far away from the lifts etc and with no harbour View's It was on the 10th floor which I found annoying to have to transfer to another lift to complete your exit or return to your room.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
1  Thank briansP4556UU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Hi Brian

I am sorry you had to turn down the upgraded room, often 2 people in a room means a couple, so I can see how the confusion occurred. To ensure you get a harbour view you would need to book a harbour view room, the rooms that are accessed without changing lifts are our deluxe rooms. Next time you come to stay with us, just mention you would like that room type when booking and I am sure our reservationist will be able to accommodate that for you.

I am sorry you were unhappy with the room you booked. I do hope you will stay again and experience the upgraded room type.

Thanks
Karyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

We selected this hotel for its location and parking as we had a fully packed car and needed to be sure it was secure. We were not disappointed in any way and enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. It is close to museums, the town centre and theatreb

Room Tip: Wonderful views of harbour if requested
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear Jill M

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate it.

Hope to see you next time you are in Wellington.

Thanks
Karyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews