We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant views, big room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel has a fantastic location directly on the Bay. It has a good cafe right next door that does great coffee and food. You can call an Uber and they arrive within a minute or two, and it is cheap to get to anywhere in the CBD really quickly, or it is just a short walk to the great cafes and shops. It is a pretty old building but the rooms are nicely set out with clean and modern fittings and comfortable bed. The room balcony was great. You can open up the room doors and hear the bay and the birds. The pool was being renovated but there is an excellent 34 metre long, multi lane pool about a minutes walk away and directly out in the bay (so good views and light and airy) with a gym and spa bath that hotel members can use for free - we really liked using it each day. Can highly recommend this hotel for a Wellington experience - you feel like it is part of the city and not just another chain hotel.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank anchor228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear anchor228

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are certainly located in a good spot to be accessible to Wellington CBD but also having great access to the bay with phenomenal views.

Thanks
Karyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel is very conveniently located within 5 minute walk of Te Papa museum and 10 minutes from the main restaurant area of downtown Wellington. It’s a quick taxi or bus ride from the train/bus station, and a fairly easy walk to the I-site, where a lot of tours take off from

The public areas are attractive, the rooms are well appointed, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Our room had a queen bed and a single bed, which was unique. Walk in showers, and there was an in room safe (free to use) and a mini fridge. They also offered a mini bar, but didn’t pay much attention, I’m sure the prices are absurd.

The type of room we had apparently didn’t include air conditioning. Apparently that’s not normally an issue in Wellington, as summer temps are reported to be quite mild, but it was pretty warm while we were there, and the room was uncomfortable by the afternoon. It wouldn’t have been so bad except housekeeping kept opening the drapes, which allowed the morning and early afternoon sun to beam right in. Plus we were in an odd spot that opened out onto the roof of the rest of the building, and there was nothing to stop people from other rooms down the hall from us from exiting their room onto the roof and wandering up to our door and window. We weren’t comfortable leaving our window open during the day - you could reach right thru the window and unlock the door for free access to our room. The room does have a small stand fan, but it really didn’t help much.

That really was our only complaint - if you are sensitive to heat, make sure to book once of the rooms that includes a/c

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Jenn B

Thank you for your review. You are right it has been very hot in Wellington lately, I will remind out housekeeping staff not to open curtains to let the sun in on hot days. Thanks for the reminder. We do have minibars but our prices are actually very reasonable. I think its a thing of the past people charging ridiculous prices for mini bar items.

Thanks
Karyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
Thank kellytX8581HV
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karyn M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Great hotel for a very affordable price. Beds are the extremely big & comfortable. Amenities are good & great central location. Only downside is parking which is $30 per night or $1ph outside in paid parking area. Luckily we stayed over the weekend when the pay parking was free

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
Thank Y2219AYelizabetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Y2219AYelizabetha

Thank you for your review. Majority of our rooms have new beds and they are proving to be quite a hit with our guests. I am glad you found it to your liking.

THanks
Karyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

The Copthorne is right in the middle of Oriental Bay and it is a great place to walk or cycle around. The room is very comfortable and clean. I thought that the $30 charge to valet park the car is a bit much and I also think the wifi should be unlimited. One other negative is the fact that the milk is small plastic long life milk whereas a lot of other hotels offer fresh milk which I much prefer.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Anne G

Thank your for taking the time to review our hotel. The location of our hotel is very good, its so handy to the CBD but also wonderful for our leisure guests.

Thanks
Karyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.4 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
2,004 reviews
1.8 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,781 reviews
1.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#15 of 47 in Wellington
2,276 reviews
1.4 km away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $177 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location is everything, then this hotel in Wellington has it all. Located on Wellington's premier street, Oriental Parade, the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay overlooks one of the most beautiful harbours in the world, and offers one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. All 118 rooms are decorated in colours that capture the natural beauty of the nearby ocean and earth with balcony views of the harbour or city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing